1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (231 votes, average: 3.96 / 5)
Loading...

Final Fantasy XIV

Final Fantasy XIV is a 3D fantasy-themed MMORPG from Square Enix. The game is a re-launched version of original Final Fantasy XIV, the second MMORPG in the franchise, and features an updated game engine, revamped gameplay, and a new storyline.

Publisher: Square Enix
Playerbase: High
Type: MMORPG
Release Date: August 27, 2013 (NA/EU)
PvP: Duels / Arenas
Pros: +Great character customization. +Excellent soundtrack. +Good variety of classes and professions. +Player housing. +Dynamic class and skill systems.
Cons: -Zero class customization. -Early game feels a bit slow.

x

Overview

Final Fantasy XIV Overview

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is yet another addition to the highly-acclaimed Final Fantasy franchise from the game giant, Square Enix. Enter the fantasy realm of Eorzea, a land embraced by the gods and forged by heroes. Play as one of five races, each with their own unique features and take your pick from eight combat classes and over 10 professions. Specialize in one class or mix them up to fit your own playing style. Follow a deep and engaging storyline while exploring a massive fantasy world chock-full of content that you’ve come to expect from a Final Fantasy game.

Final Fantasy XIV Key Features:

  • Story Driven Gameplay – with high production value (Graphics, Music, Cinematics, etc).
  • Character Customization 5 playable races and 10+ playable classes to start. Level up every single class in the game on a single character with the game's unique job system.
  • Cross-Platform Play – between PC and Playstation 4.
  • Player Housing – through Free Companies (guilds) and private housing.
  • High Level of Content – an incredible amount of content. Players can easily spend thousands of hours in the game without running out of content to explore.
  • Tons of Small Features – lots of smaller features make the game feel complete (marriage, Golden Saucer mini games, Triple Triad, tons of side quests, etc).

Final Fantasy XIV Screenshots

Final Fantasy XIV Featured Video

Classes

Final Fantasy XIV Classes & Races

Classes:

Disciples of War:

  • Gladiator – specializes in handling all types of one-handed blades from daggers to longswords. They can also equip shields in their offhand. The added defense shields provide make them suitable tanks. Gladiators can specialize as Paladins.
  • Lancer – adept at keeping enemies at bay with their long, two-handed polearms. They are versatile combatants that can pepper their opponents with a barrage of attacks. Lancers can specialize as Dragoons.
  • Marauder – a class whose weapon of choice is the great axe. They rely on strength and brute force to crush their enemies. Marauders make good tanks and can specialize as Warriors.
  • Pugilist – masters of hand-to-hand combat and fighting at close quarters. They maximize their destructive potential through the use of knuckles made from metal, leather, or bones. They forgo the protection of plate and chain for lighter gear which allows for maximum mobility. Pugilists can specialize as Monks.
  • Archer – can take out enemies with deadly precision from great distances. The bow is their weapon of choice and can equip arrows best suited to their enemy. Archers can specialize as Bards.
  • Samurai - A high damage 2 handed weapon wielding class that was added to the game after the Stormblood expansion.

Disciples of Magic:

  • Conjurer – controls elemental forces present in nature. They use wands or canes to focus their power and make great healers. Conjurers can specialize as White Mages.
  • Thaumaturge – calls forth aether from within themselves to unleash destructive forces. They use scepters or staffs as mediums to mold aether into sorcery. Thaumaturges can specialize as Black Mages.
  • Arcanist – can produce a myriad of powerful spells using symbols of power held within grimoires. They are able to summon Carbuncle as their companion. Arcanists can specialize as Summoners (DPS) and Scholars (Healer).
  • Red Mage - Red Mages use both melee weapons and magic and can even heal themselves. They're a quick and deadly hybrid class.

Races:

  • Hyur – the most populous of all the races and are known for their peculiarly short and rounded ears. They have modest heights and builds.
  • Elezen – once the sole inhabitants of Eorzea, they believed that the realm was theirs by divine right. They have a long history of conflict with the Hyurs and are recognizable by their tall and slender physiques as well as their long and pointy ears.
  • Miqo’te – a feline-like race with a keen sense of smell, powerful legs, and a tail which gives them exceptional balance. They are territorial and solitary individuals.
  • Lalafell – short in stature, they appear as no more than children to the eyes of other citizens of the realm. They are nimble little folk that can be found in great numbers in nearly every city.
  • Roeadyn – known for their large and brawny builds, they are the largest of all the races. Most of them earn their keep on or by the sea but a few can be found working as smithies or bodyguards.

Full Review

Final Fantasy XIV Review

By Marc Marasigan

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, or FFXIV ARR, is a subscription-based pay-to-play 3D fantasy-themed MMORPG from gaming giant, Square Enix. The game was released for Windows, PS3, and PS4 on August 27, 2013 and is a re-launch of the original Final Fantasy XIV which was shut down in November 11, 2012 due to largely negative reviews. The aptly named re-launched version featured a different game engine, revamped gameplay, improved user interface, and a brand new story.

The events of A Realm Reborn take place in the mythical realm of Eorzea, five years after the apocalyptic events that concluded the original FFXIV. Players take on the role of Warriors of Light, heroes who have escaped the devastation by travelling through time five years into the future. They return to a realm rising from the ashes and rebuilding from the wake of destruction left behind by Bahamut’s release from his lunar prison while also dealing with the looming threat of invasion from the Garlean Empire to the north.

As a huge fan of the Final Fantasy series, I was absolutely giddy with excitement as I started up the game and waited for the opening cinematic to come on. I wasn’t the least bit disappointed. Final Fantasy games are not only known for their deep storylines but also for their awesome cinematics and cutscenes, and A Realm Reborn is no different. Everything is just so… wow, for lack of a better word. That being said, I promise you, dear readers, that I will try to be as objective as I can and will not let my utter devotion to the series cloud my judgement.

A Hero Returns

Like typical MMORPG’s, FFXIV players start off their adventures by creating characters, or avatars if you prefer. Players choose from five races with distinct features, such as cat-like appearances for the Miqo’te and pointy elf-ears for the Elezen. Players can also play as either male or female. Then, players pick from two clans which slightly changes their appearance before choosing from 8 combat classes falling under either Disciples of War or Disciples of Magic. Classes also determine which one of the three starting cities the player starts out in. For hardcore players who want the perfect builds, it’s important to note that different races and clans give different starting stats and may be better suited to some classes. Hyur Highlanders, for example, have high starting STR and would make good Lancers and Pugilists, while Elezen Duskwights have high INT needed by Thaumaturges. I, for one, am all about how my characters look so I pretty much choose characters that look good whatever their starting stats are. The developers at Square Enix have also pointed out that the stat differences will have very little effect on characters at max level. Also, the way FFXIV’s gameplay is set up, you’ll likely be using one character throughout the whole game, so make sure your characters look just right before jumping into the game.

FFXIV features character customization that comes close to games like Tera and ArcheAge but sadly, falls a little bit short. Players do get to customize a lot of things about their characters including height, build, tattoos, and face paint. Unfortunately, the customization feature doesn’t really offer too many other options apart from the hairstyle and hair color. They also lack the face sliders present in other games which, in my opinion, is the key to making truly unique-looking characters. As it is, characters basically look the same just with different hairstyles. Even the boob slider is a bit of a let-down. Nevertheless, players have plenty of options to customize their appearance through clothing and other in-game cosmetics.

A Beautiful Realm Rising From The Ashes

Final Fantasy games have been known for stunning graphics that push the boundaries of whatever machine you’re playing it on and hauntingly beautiful background music. FFXIV definitely checks out in both departments. The game’s graphics are absolutely stunning and the game world is so wonderfully made that there were times when I just wanted to stop for a while and admire the scenery. However, it does takes a decent machine to run it. The background music and sound effects also definitely live up to the Final Fantasy name, right down to the iconic level up melody that has served as ringtones of many fans of the franchise.

Signing Up For Adventure

After creating their characters, players are introduced to their starting cities through a somewhat lengthy cutscene involving a peddler who basically looks the same in all three cities but with different names, outfits, and accents. They might even be brothers. *shrug* Oh, and just in case you’re wondering, the cutscenes don’t have any voice overs. The way the dialogues were written sort of just sounded different in my head. Probably a side effect from reading too many books.

Upon reaching the city, the Active Help system, a fancy term for annoying-pop-up-boxes-explaining-stuff-you-already-know, quickly gets new players up to speed on the basics of movement and camera control. The Active Help boxes will continue to plague players every time they encounter new gameplay elements. Veterans MMORPG players can easily turn this feature off by ticking the “Don’t Show” checkbox found in the dialog boxes or from the character configuration menu. Players are also asked to choose their preferred control method at the start of the game. The game supports both the classic keyboard/mouse combo and gamepad controls. Every new adventurer starts out by visiting the local watering hole and signing up with the local adventurer’s guild. Signing-up makes you an official errand boy… err adventurer ready to deal with the town’s needs.

The Townies’ Little Errand Boy

FFXIV, like countless MMORPG’s before it, features the ever-present, time-tested, albeit monotonous, breadcrumb quest system that will, once again, have players helping out the local townsfolk with their multitude of chores and errands. These chores includes sending players on a wild goose chase killing mobs and collecting a variety of items around the realm. The game also features gameplay elements that players would normally expect from a big budget MMORPG such as professions, crafting, mounts, dungeons, raids, and a player housing system, which seems to be the current trend in MMORPG’s. Speaking of mounts, they come in the form of the iconic Chocobos which can be rented from major towns upon reaching level 10.

Aside from the normal quests, FFXIV also features FATE quests. FATE stands for Fully Active Time Event and are quests that spawn randomly throughout the game world. These are marked on the map as soon as one appears. FATE quests award Experience points, Gil, the game’s main currency, and GC seals, which players can use to redeem goods and services in their respective Grand Companies, ARR’s version of factions. Any player in the region can join the FATE quest. Rewards are awarded based on the FATE quests' difficulty and the player’s level of involvement in the quest. FATE quests, along with dungeons, are a great source of experience points when leveling up alternate classes since most of the story and town quests will have been used up by the time they start leveling their second and third classes.

Another feature unique to FFXIV is the Armoury Chest. This is where all weapons and equipment are stored independent from the character’s Inventory which is reserved for items, potions, and crafting materials. FFXIV’s cross-class feature requires players to have multiple sets of equipment ready to don at a moment’s notice. The Armoury Chest was put in place with this in mind. The feature prevents the Inventory from filling up with gear and lessens the grief of managing limited inventory space. The Armoury Chest can be accessed at any time by pressing Ctrl+I.

Cross-Classing

FFXIV allows players to switch classes by simply equipping a weapon unique to that class. Switching to the Lancer class, for example, requires players to equip a polearm type weapon, an axe for a Marauder, and a bow to switch to the Archer class. Players can change classes upon completing a main story quest around level 13. This also opens up crafting professions which are also considered as classes in the game. Switching to a new class brings the character back to level 1. Each new class can then be leveled up to 50, the current level cap. Specialized classes can also be unlocked by meeting the class requirements. For example, to become a Paladin, players must reach level 30 in the Gladiator class and level 15 in the Conjurer class. Class skills are also automatically unlocked upon reaching certain levels. While not every skill is usable when changing classes, players will still have access to a few “shared skills” unlocked from leveling up another class. This adds a bit of diversity to the classes and play styles. Just be sure to check the skill tool-tips to see what skills can be used with what classes.

Out For Blood?

Unlike other MMORPG’s, FFXIV players can play through the game without once engaging in PVP. Players don’t have to engage in PVP if they don’t want to which is why PVP is only available in designated areas of the game world. PVP comes in two forms: the Wolves’ Den and Frontlines. The Wolves’ Den is a more relaxed form of PVP which pits 4 players against another team of four in instanced levels containing stairs, pillars, and other obstacles that players can use to their advantage. The first team to eliminate the other wins. Access to the Wolves’ Den is granted by completing a quest together with a player’s Grand Company. Frontlines, on the other hand, involves a large-scale battle of up to 72 players divided into three teams of 24 players each. Teams work together to capture outposts, kill other players, and kill mobs to gain points. The first team to reach a certain number of points wins the battle.

Golden Saucer, Crafting, and More

Aside from the traditional PvE content, Final Fantasy XIV has a lot to keep players busy. The game's designers put meticulous detail into truly creating an immersive experience where players can do much more than just fight monsters. Players can kick back and relax while playing mini games at the Golden Saucer or just sit atop a rock and start fishing. From player housing (Free company and individual) to in-depth crafting, Final Fantasy XIV is one of the few games that truly feels like a complete package.

Final Verdict - Excellent

Square Enix has been known for successfully producing high quality big-budget games. Early failures aside, Final Fantasy XIV: A Real Reborn is definitely another addition to their growing pool of excellent games. The game features a massive world with tons of content that offers something for everybody, hardcore and casual gamers alike. The stunning visuals and cinematics alone will surely draw old fans and new players in right from the start. Couple that with a beautiful soundtrack and a deeply engaging storyline and you’ve got an excellent game that will be enjoyed by gamers for years to come. If only it wasn’t pay-to-play, but I guess that’s too much to hope for.

Screenshots

Final Fantasy XIV Screenshots

Videos

Final Fantasy XIV Videos

System Requirements

Final Fantasy XIV System Requirements

Minimum Requirements:

Operating System: Vista / 7 / 8 / 8.1 / 10
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 3 GHz
Video Card: 512 MB VGA Card / Intel HD 3000 / HD 4000
RAM: 2 GB
Hard Disk Space: 20 GB

Recommended Requirements:

Operating System: Vista / 7 / 8 / 8.1 / 10
CPU: Intel Core i5 2.66 GHz
Video Card: GeForce GTX 660 / Radeon 7950 or better
RAM: 4 GB
Hard Disk Space: 20 GB

Final Fantasy XIV is also available on and Playstation 4.

Music

Final Fantasy XIV Music & Soundtrack

Additional Info

Final Fantasy XIV Additional Information

Developer: Square Enix
Publisher: Square Enix
Composer(s): Nobuo Uematsu, Roy Yamazaki, Naoshi Mizuta, Tsuyoshi Sekito, Masayshi Soken

Engine: Crystal Tools Engine

Platform(s): Playstation 3 and Playstation 4, PC

Original Release Date: September 30, 2010 (Final Fantasy XIV)
Revamp Release Date: August 27, 2013 (A Realm Reborn)
Second Expansion Release Date: June 23, 2015 (Heavensward)
Third Expansion Release Date: June 20, 2017 (Stormblood)

Development History / Background:

Final Fantasy XIV was developed by Japanese game studio Square Enix and originally released on September 30, 2010. The game's initial launch was met with much criticism and, after 2 years of service, the original Final Fantasy 14 game was shut down and a revamped version of the game launched - Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn. The new version was announced in October 2011 and launched on August 27, 2013. Development for Final Fantasy 14 began in early 2005 and took over 5 years to develop. Given the immense success of Final Fantasy 11, a second Final Fantasy MMORPG was a no-brainer for Square Enix.

  • AlexSage

    Recently returned and it's still one of the best MMOs on the market right now. SE just seems to be making the right decisions as far this game goes since the relaunch. Wish DPS queue could be shorter but well whatever :P.

  • Marcelo Monteiro (Lyzern)

    I think you should go much more in detail about the Crafting/Gathering system and much less about the PvP system, because the Crafting System is just about the most complex I've ever seen in any MMORPG and it's a world of its own, it's just so complete that you can literally just play the game and have fun by crafting, selling, making furniture for your house, etc etc.. While the PvP is just... meh. It's like a little bone to the PvP players, a very small bone.

    • Thanks for the feedback. Will get more added about it. Agreed, the Crafting in FF14 is big deal. =)

  • syn

    I like this game, don't get me wrong, but the textures are horrid. Southern Thanalan's textures look like they came out of Everquest... The anti aliasing is also terrible. Without the lighting system the game would look meh.. The only reason I say this is because everyone says it's graphics are amazing :p

    • Cottage Cheese :3

      Have you really played? The graphics are amazing.

    • Tyler Chaves

      The graphics are amazing, not many other MMO's compete. Calling out single textures as poorly rendered can be done with any game, shouldn't really judge the whole game based on single areas of poor textures. Only games with crazy graphics like Black Desert beat FFXIV on graphics.

    • Rocco Spino

      4 years ago when it came out, you better believe it had one of the best graphics of any mmo, and even now looks absolutely beautiful. Go to pintrest, reddit, even imgr, and type in ff14 screenshots. So pretty, almost all wallpaper worthy.

  • Blehme

    Currently, I personally think this is the best subscription MMO out there (probably even the best mmo out there period). And thats saying A LOT, because there are quite a few great ones. The actual encounters and gameplay are extremely rewarding. Completing some of the content in this game, will literally have you jumping out of your chair in happiness. And its not just end game content, some of the leveling content is extremely difficult at times (Im looking at you first time Ifrit/Titan runners).

    That being said, I have to point out my 2 biggest complaints (everyone else has pointed out the good).

    1. No character customization besides cosmetic ones. You get stat points which barely help, and then you have cross class skills that help, but don't really separate you from the thousands of other . I would really love to see some form of character customization in this game.

    2. Story locked content. This is the worst.... Nothing like purchasing a new expansion, to have it locked behind a weeks worth of questing because you haven't played in a year. You cant run dungeons, because you didn't pickup a random quest a long the way. Its extremely frustrating at times.

    • Cottage Cheese :3

      You still have a lot of customization I think, but I think it's a bit limited. You can make your character look different, but I think they could add some more. The classes is a problem too when it comes to customization.

  • Uhh Huh

    Would this game ever become buy to play?

    • It's undoubtedly successful with the current subscription model. I don't expect FF14 to transition anytime soon.

      • Uhh Huh

        Awww man figures. i feel like the sub is a waste for me anyway, because i can't play it very often, paid 22$ and only got to play it for 19hrs till my time ran out. So i guess it's either I get a better paying job or Matsuda somehow magically hears my prayers. Still love the game though 11/10 would pay 22$ and play it for 5 hours again

        • alternativeIV

          i can play the game for you lol

          • if a subscription is a waste of money to him, why on earth would he spend MORE money to NOT play..?

          • Akane

            that was intented as a joke

  • Rolder

    Man I used to think this game was the shit. Too bad the expansion didn't change anything, and is essentially a big content patch with some extra levels thrown in. Only four raid bosses and two dungeons? Come on. Also doesn't help that the raid has two difficulties; "Mind-numbingly easy" and "Extremely, frustratingly difficult"

    Also the expansion made gathering and crafting absolutely pointless, lol

    • Rocco Spino

      i know this is old but for new viewers, THEIR is a lot more than that, especially now.

  • Nick Beltran

    should update this to include the expansion info.

  • Tyler Allen

    Do you think this game will go Free to play/Buy to play? I really am interested in playing this, but not willing to pay the monthly fee. Hopefully it wont have a subscription in the future.

    • Matt

      It will likely have a sub until the moment it shuts down. FFXI is still a subscription game and FFXIV is doing fairly well.

      • I'd be surprised if it ever does, the game does really well at this present time and the content is still being delivered regularly and is pretty good.

        • Augosyx

          Nah, Square Enix has already made a statement that they will not go F2P or B2P. If they thought about that, FFXI would be F2P long time ago.

    • Bryan

      Their business model revolves around the subscription model to fund their aggressive strategy to releasing a significant content patch every 3 months with a smaller patch in between. That's why it's been regarded highly, so I doubt they would want to break that cycle for a long while at least.

  • GiftoftheMagi

    A little something about the housing: While the game does have it, that does not mean you will be able to get a house. Each server has limited instances for housing, each with a limited array and sizes of houses each. A new instance will become available every once in a while...and will be quickly bought out, sometimes within a day. It may be months before another instance is added. So don't expect to get a home in-game unless you are on a low-pop server.

    Also, this game has one of the worse UIs I have ever seen, especially in social. It is difficult and clunky to communicate, the UI is cramped and sometimes confusing and no you won't get much help.

    Lastly, the game actually discourages role-play. A game advertised as a MMORPG is not particularly RP friendly. Sure you can do "weddings", mini-games and such, but regular interaction, design, emotes and such are sorely lacking. The players have designated a few servers as RP ones, but the company seems to be against the idea for some reason.

    • Bryan

      The new housing system overhaul and revamp already commenced from patch 3.3 and roadmap set through to 3.5, eventually to complete with a system to hand ownership between players as well (date TBA as far as I know). Long overdue imo.

      • GiftoftheMagi

        It's something they badly need. It's one of the more lackluster elements of the game, that much older games have already found ways around on their release. The fact that it took this long before they decided to do something about it, and the bizarre population system (servers have total population limits, which means you cannot join certain servers if the pop is high enough...unless you pay about 40-60$ USD) is just crass.

        • Rocco Spino

          Honestly where are you getting you money estimates from. Its also not hard to make a character on a populated server, sargantans is one example, plenty, plenty of ppl, and no locks. Server limits is common sense. And i personally enjoy that housing which is getting bigger and bigger is the way it is. Other game's solutions include having no real area's for housing and just instances for the inside. plus there are also apartments like that for everyone now. HOW is the UI bad? You can literally customize every bit of positioning to you liking. Yes i know this is an old post but, it seems like your just complaining over nothing. Most mmo's have zero UI customization. And ROLEPLAY is NOT DISCOURAGED, there is even an icon to indicate you roleplay. Entire free companies dedicated to role play.

  • Hyou Vizer

    2nd expansion Stormblood 4.0 will drastically change how all the jobs play with its revamp come June 16th, 2017

    will still be tab-targeting with GCDs of course but even past Jobs will have new skills than just ones past the new level cap, they're re-working a lot of them so each Job suits their name better and removing tons of skills they were pretty much useless

  • AnimePrince Rolito Vi

    I hear this game lately the trial not 20 but 30?. What is a level cap?.

    • Haruka

      35

  • Dominik Niklas

    This is probably one of the most overrated mmorpgs I've played. And I really gave it a try. I made it until level 40 and the only redeeming quality this game has is the name and fanservice. I heard so many opinions and the funny thing is that everyone who unironically enjoys it played the other Final Fantasy game the others? Don't. I guess the name and average quality is enough to sell an mmorpg which is extremely sad.

    • DucturTunma

      I haven't played it but have watched some videos and still can't get the slightest idea why this game is so high rated and hyped. Combat is bad, there are housing problems apparently, it locks content if you haven't done some quests, it's graphics are not that good, it has subscription paying model, someone mentioned that it doesn't have many emotes and other vital things for role playing, it has bad UI. Besides story, is there ANYTHING great about it?

      • Rocco Spino

        So you haven't played it, but combat is bad. How so? About lvl 30, and up combat just keeps getting busier and faster. Housing is huge in ff14, multiple ppl owns real estate and i daresay more than most other mmo's. Real estate is also being constantly add'd, and now anyone can own an apartment, learn more dude. Content locks on quests?, first off, does not apply to all content, and secondly is just a little bit of lore to unlock, multiple multiple games do this, its normal(you gonna do dungeons, or raids, with absolutely zero story, because it thro's you in?). The subscription model guarantees this game's longevity and future content. More things are add'd every patch than some games get in a year. PLENTY OF EMOTES, where do you even get that from? HOW IS THE UI BAD?, its preset are good, and you can literally move every single ui component if you like. TOTAL customization.
        GREAT STUFF. Play any job on the same character. Involved, multiple job, crafting system, desynth. More than one way to lvl(main story quests, fates, pvp, dungeons, side quests, and hunting log). Huge love for glamour, ppl sometimes make that their focus in the whole game(how their character looks). Extremely friendly player base, more so than a lot of other mmo's ive played. Better endgame content than shitloads of other mmos, mechanic based raids, scaling dungeon scoreboards, ranked pvp. Excellent story. Small stuff to make the game feel more like home, marriage system, fc's, mentor system, huge amounts of housing customization, mini card game, multiple minigame area Goldsaucer, Hunts, treasure maps, multple mounts, minions. And even more i'm leaving out.
        You are just as naive as the character you based your name and profile pic on.

        • DucturTunma

          Then people are just spreading s*** around the internet, I guess. I read those all things in comments and reviews.
          Would like to try the game out but I know that I won't be able to pay for the subscription for now. Or rather I don't want to right now because I know that I will be busy and not play often enough for it to be worth the month's pay.

    • Rocco Spino

      So its average eh? How? One of the best crafting sytems in mmo's, great player base, various raids, trials, pvp, fates, difficult hunts, open world boss's, gear, glamour, housing customization, dungeons and more. Much much more. YOU GOT TO 5% of the ACTUAL GAME. Any seasoned MMO player knows that its not until you get past low lvl scrub status that the game really opens up. SO What MMO do you like? Honestly i bet it has more cons, and less to do than FF14.

      • Michael Carroll

        Man this game does not have the best crafting system at all. It is a generic crafting system, where literally everyone can make the same thing, and I am 100 percent sure bots rule it. The player base is terrible, they are literally a bunch of people like you, that get so mad when some one say this game is trash, they come up with a bunch of garbage to try and defend it, like their personal reputation was on the line.

        The combat system is garbage and slow, pvp dont joke man, it isnt that funny. The pvp in this game is just laughable. The rest of the stuff you mentioned is mediocre at best. It is a seriously long asian grinder.

        The only mmo I think is worthy of playing, is Ryzom. The rest are just generic cash shop, gambling nonsensical, bot ridden, cheat fests.

        Ryzom though has a downfall, it is so complex, the average gamer is clueless on how it works. You actually have to make your own abilities, and the crafting system you can fail and make really low quality garbage if you are stupid.

        So as the man said, for a popular mmo, the game has to be so mind numbingly simple, that you can ball slap the keyboard and win. If there is even a hit of difficulty, no one wants to play it.

        Which is why WOW, FF14, and ESO are the top MMOs. They literally are so easy to play I could teach my 4 year old how to play it. In all 3 of those games, you literally can smack the keyboard with your hand and still win.

        It is also why out of the 3000 or so people who play starbound, only 1 of them chose to join my hard core server, which is when you die you are dead forever. People can't handle difficult things, it upsets them, and they throw a fat rage and quit.

        • Rocco Spino

          Everyone has they're opinion. I do want admit that the majority of ff14 is easier, difficulty comes in raids, extreme primals, and savage. I know some grown adults that can't complete those at all. PvP can provide some difficulty if you want to win. I don't know why you want to go out of your way to complain about all the major MMOs here. Id guess there's not much in life you enjoy.

          • Michael Carroll

            I enjoy lots of things, just not what the majority do apparently. I currently play starbound, since all the mmos are garbage now a days. Even that though no one joins me, because they can't handle the challenge of my server, which when you die your character is dead forever.

            I also like battlefield 1942 interstate 1982 mod, which is also extremely difficult, and if you mess up a jump, or make one wrong move your car blows up and you have to start over.

            Why do I come and make fun of modern MMOs, because I can. Prolly because I miss the old days, of hard mmos, and not this modern dumbed down dumpster trash they made to attract the masses, to line their pockets. With their horrid cash shops, where you can buy levels, power, and anything you want, or if its not there just go to a site that will sell it to you, with constant bots spamming everything, they never ban, or do anything about.

            As for FF14 goes, no you can't say any of it is hard. There is literally nothing you can do to lose in that game. The only thing difficult you could say about the game, is that the leveling is so boring, it takes a extreme focus to grind all those levels.

            As for PVP you must be joking. There is no way I am gonna spend god awful hours grinding out levels, and equipment to pvp. When heroes of the storm, has a 1000 times more challenging pvp, where everyone is on equal footing as far as characters go. I have never seen a pvp mmo that is anything but trash, they all require you to grind lots of hours, or pay someone else to do it for you, or pay the creators seems to be the new age thing, with their character boosts.

          • Rocco Spino

            Whatever you like is up to you, not saying your a bad guy. I just dont like it when people talk bad about something without knowing everything. Savage raids are difficult, many ppl on ff14 cannot complete them. The percentage of players that have is roughly only 5 to 10 perc. If you watch a video on it it may looking confusing but if it looks easy it's because the group in video had spent days, running it almost every day to learn it in a static. Ff14 PvP is not affected by gear either. Some may not like it, but everyone in PvP is on the same stats lvls. I won't say anything bad about your games, because like you, I don't know everything about them.

          • Rocco Spino

            They are also coming out with ultimate raids in 5 days to appease ppl that want even more challenge. I'll admit ff14 is not perfect tho, if there was one thing I would change is beginning difficulty and the rate at which you get lvls to make it slightly less boring at the start. Also turning some of the main story errand quests into optional side quests.

          • Michael Carroll

            I bet you, if someone gave me a top end FF14 account, I could beat that raid your talking about, with any class.

            That is a good step though for MMO pvp if gear is not part of it. Though if that is the case, how come you can't pvp from the start?

          • Rocco Spino

            You can PvP once your lvl 30, I think a big part of that is that it's when you would unlock the jobs. And no, it's very unlikely you could beat the raids that easily, because unlike other MMOs, ff14 is extremely dependent on team consistency. In savage any 1 persons mistake will usually wipe the raid.

          • Michael Carroll

            Those raids do sound fun then, maybe I will rethink playing.

          • Rocco Spino

            Well if you decide to and would like someone to play with my name is Roccoheatt on sargantanas. From everything you've told me about yourself you might still have trouble lvling but savage raids and extreme primals would be fun. I don't know how long ago youve played but there is this new thing called palace of the dead. It's useful for lvling, challenge, and rewards. Floors 1 -50 you lvl up inside separate from you character, and when you hit floor 50 you'll be the highest lvl in there you can be and have a new starting point. Goes to floor 200. Anyways it is solable and or group worthy so if want some challenge lvling up you can always see how far you can solo, I've done that. Unfortunately arr mainstory quests are the same, but everyone agrees the dlcs main story quests get better and better. And if you really, really wanted to avoid lvling from scratch, there are jump potions to lvl60 the start of stormblood.

          • Michael Carroll

            There are only 2 enjoyable mmos I know of, Ryzom, and star wars galaxies.

  • Rocco Spino

    Their are multiple ppl from other mmo's like WoW that have came to this game and loved it. i personally do as well. This game has literally tons of content, and yes it may not all be specific to say pvp, raiding or crafting: buts its diversity of quality content that makes it so good. Also the player base is amazing, if your a new player and need help, just join a mentor chat. The subscription model may turn away some, but it guarantees the game's longevity, and future patch's quantity and quality. Also the dlc is huge, and great story, tho i will admit one downside is not everything has voice acting, but gets way better every dlc. Still my favorite thing tho is being able to play any job on the same character, battle or crafter wise. Alts only disconnect you from the game is my belief. Alts are the worse grind, which i'm happy we don't have.

  • Timothy Noël

    Gave up on WoW for this game, best decision ever.
    Only game I can imagine paying a sub for too. And it's nice to know it has a good 10-16 years of life judging by FFXI's maintenance. I will probably only ever leave this game for FFXVII or whatever the next FF MMO ends up being, which is funny because I am not a Final Fantasy franchise fan XD.

    • Michael Carroll

      Guess you like mediocre, and easy.

  • Michael Carroll

    What made me quit from this game, was the slow combat and hand holding. It would not let me leave the first area, it literally skipped me back to the npc and forced me to talk to it.

    • Rocco Spino

      I will admit the game is a bit easier if you haven't got to the end game raids or trials. Ff14 arr came out in 2013 and still had playstation 3 support till the last dlc. Black desert is newr and regardless ff14 looks beautiful. There is graphics updates planned for ff14 by yoshida but may not be for a while.

      • Michael Carroll

        I couldn't handle it bouncing me back to the npc, i didnt want to talk to and it wouldnt let me leave.

        • Yu Fa Er

          You just described questing in all MMORPGS... quit your bullshyt xD

  • Zariarn

    I've recently gotten into this game. I like the stories, graphics, and random fluff in the game. However, there's one huge thing that nags me to no end. Why are there so many invisible walls in the game? The game doesn't feel as open world as it should be due to the invisible walls blocking exploration.

    One example among many.....
    I want to be able to jump down in the river near the Roost of New Gridannia. There's lots of land to explore down there. Nope, invisible wall blocks me.

    Invisible walls are very immersion breaking. I'd rather see a mountain that can't be climbed versus having an invisible wall there.

    • Rocco Spino

      Yeah, I only hope as ps3 support has ended they can slowly open up areas. Swimming for example has been added to more than few old areas

  • SSFantasy

    Very solid MMORPG, If you are new to the genre this game is your best option.