1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (229 votes, average: 3.09 / 5)
Loading...

Echo of Soul

Echo of Soul, EoS for short, is a 3D fantasy MMORPG with a focus on fast-paced combat in a traditional MMORPG environment. The game was developed by several key members of the Lineage II team and features polished gameplay.

Publisher: Aeria Games
Playerbase: Medium
Type: MMORPG
PvP: Duels
Release Date: May 28, 2015 (NA/EU)
Pros: +Great character customization. +Unique soul system. +Up to 20-player raids.
Cons: -Gender-locked classes. -Repetitive gameplay.

x

Overview

Echo of Soul Overview

Save the World Tree and all of creation from an evil force determined to destroy all life in Echo of Soul. Echo of Soul is a free-to-play 3D fantasy MMORPG originally released in South Korea in 2013. The game was developed by several key members of Lineage 2 and focuses on providing a polished MMORPG experience. Echo of Soul doesn't have any big innovative features and instead focuses on creating a fun PvE and PvP environment. Echo of Soul is one of the only client-based MMORPGs to feature a mobile APP where players can manage their auctions, inventory, and even chat with friends online.

Players start their adventure in Echo of Soul as a one of five playable classes, each of which can choose one of two specializations upon reaching Level 10.

Echo of Soul Key Features

  • Traditional MMORPG Gameplay  play as one of five classes, each with two specializations available at Level 10.
  • Unique Soul System  collect and purify the corrupted souls of your fallen enemies and use them to trigger powerful buffs or craft rare items.
  • 3 Professions – Resource Collector, Jeweler, and Alchemist.
  • Infinite Dungeons – hone your skills and obtain additional items by revisiting stronger versions of defeated bosses.
  • Magic Eggs – acquire rare eggs by playing the game and exchange them for cash items without spending a dime.
  • Socketing System – jewel- and rune-socketing system allows players to enhance their gear.

Echo of Soul Screenshots

Echo of Soul Featured Video

Classes

Echo of Soul Classes

Warrior (Male) – Warriors are brutish mercenaries that specialize in melee combat.

  • Berserker Berserkers are a tanky melee DPS class capable of dealing large amounts of damage to their enemies. They specialize in being able to deal sustained melee damage.
  • Protector Protectors use swords and shields, and are capable of absorbing huge amounts of damage. They are the ideal tank.

Archer (Female) – Archers utilize bows and music to destroy their enemies.

  • Huntress Huntresses are masters of the bow that specialize in dealing ranged damage to their opponents.
  • Bard Bards utilize rhtymic tunes to support their party members or cast debuffs on their enemies.

Rogue (Male) – Rogues are deadly melee assassins capable of dealing high damage with melee attacks and poisons.

  • Duelist Duelists specialize in dealing burst melee damage to their opponents by utilizing critical strikes and powerful attacks.
  • Assassin Assassins specialize in inflicting melee DoT attacks on their opponents by utilizing powerful poisons.

Guardian (Female) – Guardians draw their power from nature and are capable of dealing AoE damage or acting as a secondary tank.

  • Stormguard Stormguards are masters of lightning and wind. They specialize in dealing AoE damage to their enemies.
  • Earthguard Earthguards specialize in protecting their party members by acting as secondary tanks. They use shockwaves to damage and weaken their enemies.

Sorceress (Female) – they are the primary offensive magic class in Echo of Soul. They can cast powerful offensive fire spells and slow their enemies with crowd control ice magic.

  • Firemage Firemages focus exclusively on dealing as much damage as possible to their targets. They are the burst magic damage class in the game.
  • Forstmage Frostmages specialize in slowing and rooting their enemies while also casting offensive ice magic. They lack the damage of firemages, but make up for it in added utility.

Full Review

Echo of Soul Review

By Marc Marasigan

Echo of Soul, or EoS, is a fantasy-themed 3D MMORPG from Korean game developer Nvius. EoS was ported over to North America and Europe by Aeria Games, who also currently publishes the game. The game officially hit open beta on May 28, 2015 and is available on Aeria Games’ game portal, Aeria Ignite, and on Steam.

EoS is set in a medieval fantasy world, and is yet another game based on the concept of the World Tree. Evil forces are threatening to destroy the World Tree and all of creation by reviving an ancient evil who corrupted the land with his dying blood. As a Hero chosen by the gods, it’s up to the player to stop this from happening while purifying the corrupted souls roaming the land in the process.

The Chosen

Players start the game with a quick intro movie recounting the history of the game world. Cut-scenes and movies have been something I’ve always looked forward to when playing games and this one didn’t disappoint. Players then pick from five gender-locked classes before customizing their character’s appearance. The game gives plenty of options to make your character stand out from the crowd by way of face tattoos and accessories, but sadly, lacks the detailed sliders that allow players to make truly unique-looking characters. The anime-inspired character models look great as they are and I’d gladly play them right off the bat. However, a few extra customization options would have certainly made a big difference.

After creating their characters, players are taken to the starting town of Breya, a small town shrouded in flames and under attack from demons. Speaking to Levina starts players on a quest that will eventually take them all over the world. For players new to the genre, or for players looking for a tutorial, the game features an unobtrusive tutorial system that requires players to click on one of the exclamation points on top of the hotbar if they need more info on what’s going on. These exclamation points pop up when a player encounters something new. The entire tutorial is also voiced, which adds a bit of flare while also appealing to players who don’t care much about reading. It’s also worth mentioning that, as far as I could tell, the tutorial, dialogue, and the NPC voiceovers seem to have been translated flawlessly, so hats off to the translation team.

A World in Chaos

Echo of Soul features stunning visuals comparable to ArcheAge, Tera, and Final Fantasy XIV, and absolutely awesome visual effects. The game’s audio is also quite good  specifically the background music which gives the game a high-fantasy vibe similar to Final Fantasy games. As I mentioned earlier, the game features voiceovers for the tutorial as well as NPCs, which, in my opinion, were also done remarkably well.

Sticking With the Formula

Echo of Soul follows the standard formula for MMORPGs, including breadcrumb quests, item enhancements, dungeons, professions, pets, mounts, and basically “everything an MMO player could want,” according to Junhyung Jung the game’s Global Development Project Manager. Surprisingly, the game lacks a player housing system, which seems to be a standard feature of more modern MMORPGs. The game, however, stands out from the crowd with its unique Soul System where players gain corrupted souls whenever they kill a mob or a boss. These souls then need to be purified near Soul Sanctums, which are located in populated areas. Purified souls can then be used to activate powerful buffs during combat, which grow more powerful as they’re used, or to craft special items. Players can also perform co-op purifications, which consumes only 1 soul instead of the usual 2, with the added bonus of being able to purify souls without needing to be near a Soul Sanctum. Players don’t need to be friends, or even know the other player to perform a co-op purification. All they have to do is right-click on the player and choose co-op Purification from the menu.

Combat and movement is also pretty standard. Players can use both the mouse and the WASD keys to move. A two-tiered hotbar is bound to both the Function Keys (F1, F2,…) and the number keys. Targeting is Tab-based, which makes moving while attacking a bit tricky. Normal mobs are easy enough to take down while dungeon bosses prove to be more of a challenge. Also, unlike normal mobs, dungeon bosses telegraph their special skills, giving players time to get out of the way with the very useful, although awkwardly placed, roll button (default key is F1). Another unique aspect about combat in EoS is that there is no dedicated healing class. This throws the usual Tank, DPS, Healer setup for a loop. All healing is done through consumables that allow players to heal themselves and other members of the party. This requires more organized parties and raid groups since players not only need to monitor their HP gauges but the tank’s as well, and be ready to help heal him, or other players, when needed.

The Daily Grind

Another unique aspect of Echo of Soul is that the in-game quests only require the players to do two or three things to complete them. This keeps grinding down to the barest minimum, which is always a good thing. For players who like a bit of grinding, even with the virtually infinite number of quests available, the game features Infinite Hunting Grounds where players can complete repeatable quests to their hearts content. Infinite Dungeons are also available for players who want to run previously completed dungeons for additional exp and items. Keep in mind that the mobs and bosses will be out for revenge and will be a bit stronger the second time around.

Character progression is pretty fast in EoS. I got to Level 10 in only about an hour and went through several sets of equipment without spending anything, so getting to Level 60, the current level cap, shouldn’t be much of a problem. Again, this is a good thing, considering that the game seems to be focused on end-game dungeon runs and raiding. Class skills are automatically unlocked upon reaching certain levels. At Level 10, players are given the chance to specialize in one of two sub-classes, which unlocks the chosen path’s skills. Path skills are learned by spending skill points, which players gain every two levels. The next skill tier is then unlocked by reaching certain level milestones, which is usually every four levels or so.

Battling on the Battlefield

An MMORPG that claims to have everything an MMO player could want just wouldn’t be complete without a way for players to beat the cr…*cough cough* test their skills against each other. Players can challenge other players to Duels as early as Level 1 and can join Battlefields when they reach Level 10. In Battlefields, player levels and stats are automatically adjusted to create a balanced and fun playing field. Currently, only two battlefield maps are available and are chosen at random. Hopefully the devs will add more soon.

Cash Shop

Echo of Soul is a free-to-play games, and like all free to play games, has to make money through an in-game cash shop where players can exchange Aeria Points (AP), which they can purchase using real-world money, for premium items. The cash shop offers a whole lot of cosmetic items, like costumes, hats, and face types, along with a bare handful of “convenience” items, like buffs as well as items used to safely upgrade and refine equipment. There are no experience boosters, even with a Founder’s Pack, so everybody more or less starts off on even footing.

Final Verdict – Great

Echo of Soul looks like a great game right from the get-go. Like most new MMORPGs, it doesn’t really bring anything new to the genre, but it definitely lives up to having everything a player could want in an MMORPG – well, everything except for a healer class. Not really sure if this setup will work for or against the game, but at least they’re trying to mix things up in a genre that’s gone staler than last week’s bread. Definitely one to try.

Screenshots

Echo of Soul Screenshots

Videos

Echo of Soul Videos

Links

Echo of Soul Links

Echo of Soul Official Site
Echo of Soul Wikipedia
Echo of Soul Wikia (Database / Guides)

System Requirements

Echo of Soul System Requirements

Minimum Requirements:

Operating System: Windows XP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo
Video Card: GeForce 6600 or ATI Equivalent
RAM: 1 GB
Hard Disk Space: 10 GB

Recommended Requirements:

Operating System: XP / Vista / 7 / 8 / 8.1
CPU: Intel Quad Core / AMD Phenom X4
Video Card: GeForce GTS 250 or ATI Equivalent
RAM: 2 GB
Hard Disk Space: 20 GB

Music

Echo of Soul Music & Soundtrack


Additional Info

Echo of Soul Additional Information

Developer: Nvius
Game Engine: Unreal 3
Closed Beta Date: March, 2015
Open Beta Date: May 28, 2015
Steam Launch Date: June 22, 2015

Foreign Release(s):

South Korea: September 10, 2013 (HanGame NHN)

South Korean Closure: October 22, 2015
Thailand: May 10, 2014 (Good Games)
China: October 31, 2014

Development History / Background:

Echo of Soul, EoS for short, was developed by the South Korean game developer, Nvius, using the powerful Unreal 3 engine. Echo of Soul began development in early 2011 and was originally known as Project N.O.A. before being revealed as Echo of Soul at Hangame eX 2011. The game is also known as EOS Online. Echo of Soul began its first round of closed beta testing in Korea through NHN's Hangame portal on December 1, 2012 before launching into open beta/release on September 10, 2013. The game won "Korean Good Game Award" in 2013 from Kocka, "Best MMORPG 2014" from Thailand Game Awards, and numerous other awards. The game's success in Korea led to Aeria Games licensing it for North American and European markets. Echo of Soul launched into open beta through Aeria Games in North America on May 28, 2015. The game launched on Valve's Steam service on June 22, 2015. Echo of Soul subsequently shut down its South Korean service on October 22, 2015, due to publisher Hangame's refocus on mobile projects. Nearly a year later, publisher Kakao Games announced they would relaunch Echo of Soul in South Korea.

  • Echo of Soul has been released in Thailand for a while and there's an English patch. Dunno what the delay here is. Aeria should release it already.

    • MattThanks

      How do I find the english patch?

      • Just google it. The Aeria Games version should launch soon anyway.

        • MattThanks

          Ah, I did, but can't find a patch for eos.th
          And I know its coming to the states soon. Doesn't mean I can't be bored and impatient lel

        • Zachary Welter

          Just got an email from Aeria: "Coming May 2015"

  • brunocabral

    is there any chance of Linux port in the future?

    • I doubt it. Only chance of a Linux port is if the game does REALLY well. You don't need an official Linux client though. Try using Wine on Linux to play PC games.

      • brunocabral

        does not work. The game not start.

        And yes I need a client for Linux, otherwise I can not play it.

        Windows is unbearable, so it is not an option. However if developers do run in Wine I would be happy.

        • yui

          Оh come on, don't be like that. Just install windows for games only, on the same laptop/pc.
          Not that hard and you're not loosing anything...

          • brunocabral

            The Windows is annoying and takes up disk space that could be used for other things.

          • Matthew Rosenberger

            Just do a windows 8 install lmao. Better than any of the above unless you can code your own linux shit

          • brunocabral

            if I wanted to use Windows 8 already would have used

          • Josh Hines

            and if you wanted to play the game you already would but youre on a crappy os so youre not so....

          • Josh Hines

            old comment but still gonna post for anyone else that happens to scroll down .. according to my HDD disk management ..windows is only taking up 2gb of space ... and with 2tb hdds only being roughly 80 bucks and getting a ssd for ur os and select games 250gb for 120 bucks windows is the best option.. youre not losing any crucial space in this day in age

          • brunocabral

            I'll try a virtual machine for Windows XP.

  • TheForseeker

    I'm going to give it a good try when beta hits in NA. Yeah it's Aeria games and will probably be P2W, but I'll give it a month of endgame and see how it goes.

  • John M

    Looks like a generic fantasy MMORPG, but I'll give it a try nonetheless. I don't understand the hype though, the game looks rather.... poor for a 2013 release (In Korea I believe). It's been out in Thailand for a while too, not sure why it took so long for a Western release.

  • Open Beta launched May 28, 2015. A couple of my friends really like Echo of Soul. Seems a bit generic IMO, but the pacing is good.

  • Jake

    Horrible repetitive gameplay for game in 2015. Combat is boring. You can't even move while casting or spell will be interrupted. I don't recommend. Also, the quests are damn boring - like seriously in all of the kill quests you have to kill 1-2 monsters. This makes you run around mindlessly from npc to a monster and back.

  • Joshua

    Not a bad game, however like many Korean MMOs it has gender locked classes which I find extremely off putting. I'm in the open beta but really don't think I will continue playing for much longer. I know gender locked classes are no big deal to some, but to MW it is. With only 5 classes total and 3 of them being female as well as the piss poor character builder I real don't see EoS lasting for very long.

    • AS118

      Yeesh, gender-locked classes? That's not cool. I want to be able to make any class/gender combination I want.

  • Rimantas Kazlauskas

    To all ragers(or is it rage tho?) above or below me (idk where this will appear): having in mind that this game developers were (still are?) behind the Lineage 2, which still stands, all (except for Interluge chornicals) versions are full of ppl, There is sh*t loads of servers out there. If we ignore the customization bit, the game mechanics are quite awesome which will make it stand for quite a while (In my opinion)(just like good old L2). If you want to move during casts, go play Archeage or Tera, as far as i know these two got the most action in their battle system. In EOS if you are sick of grinding on quests, go to 15vs15 arena as you get experiance (loads of it), items (ingediants for cooking, jewels) and money. from 10lvl i been doing only 15vs15 exp+money and solo dungeons for gear and i was (and still am) having great time. So yea, sick of grind, go to pvp

  • EOS sucks

    Same P2W aeria **** as always...very boring, too. Just an endless grind to get the next best gear.

  • Chris

    There is no option for male or female in character creation screen? I want to create male wizard and i can't get him. OMFG. NEXT.

  • Foreshadow

    When you're Lv 1-59, the game is fresh and enjoyable. I guarantee most mmorpg fans will enjoy the game before reaching max level. Everything below Lv 60 is balanced and doesn't require players to pay money to be on par or even stronger than one that does p2w.
    Once you get to max level however, the game immediately changes course to a game that requires over thousands of hours to be on par with someone that instead pays hundreds upon thousands of dollars to get better gear in a matter of a week. Everything starts to become very expensive and money in-game becomes very scarce and very hard to obtain without hours of grinding or real life cash. A server's player market had such a high exponential growth with their items that most players are almost required to pay real money to get gold and even then you'll run out fast because of how expense items are (Source: One EU server).
    With the uprising events and patches that keeps giving stronger and stronger items in exchange for absurd amounts of grinding and/or real life cash, there is no end to this never ending cycle of players grinding their lives out to have some of the flashiest gear and players willing to spend hundreds on it. Games like this should be called "Free to Start" as it becomes near inhumane to continue playing for free without spending real life cash on it.

    • nopezetsu-san

      oh i see nearly same with hiting top level at tera 🙁 another mmorpg fails at endgame..

  • RuneArm0r

    This game doesn't require much to run on but still is loaded with content, I actually prefer Aeria Games' other mmo, Aura Kingdom (anime inspired), but that's just me. The gender locked classes is a big turnoff to some people if you care about that.

  • p2W

    what, you spend like $50-$80 worth of advance appraisers (more likely to use 100 advance appraisers) to get 8 lines of your runic tablet? You'd be farming 2k gold each week for a full divine set, that's just 10 advance appraisers per week... Other than that, you'll be needing a ton more of lucid gems for refinement, those safeguards... geez. A few more bucks to get a pink whistle? A quest to spend $30 from their cash shop? 2W for sure.

  • Disque

    Oh my god people stop bitching about the genderlocking. That problem is literally SO INSIGNIFICANT yet you people treat it as if it is worse than, say, repetitive gameplay, which it isn't. Gameplay is, at its core, the most important aspect of any game. Next is story, then graphics, then all the other bs no one should give a hoot about until there are very little problems in the game to begin with. GET YOUR PRIORITIES STRAIGHT PEOPLE.

    • Josh Hines

      yeah i love when ppl bitch about gender lock when 80% of the time they were gonna make a female character anyways

  • Martriana M.

    The game just came out nine-ten months ago. Games can update and possible be better after a while, even if the updates are slow coming at first. Gender-lock is not a really a problem. It's just one little detail in the whole game. A mass majority of people who complain about one aspect of the game might mot even think about playing the game itself and see how it's like. You should judge a game by one feature you don't like. Most MMO's have it and it's just traditional style, with some people might enjoy. Traditional and classic style games can be fun and I technically prefer that style of game-play myself. Plus, the character customization is pretty complex and fun way to style your character no matter the gender the class you picked is. And game-play might be repetitive, but it's pretty fun to pay attention to the story in the game rather then the fighting and quest style. I find the graphics not a big deal due to the scenery being really beautiful with a ton of unique characters. The places to visit are very wide opened and spacious and fun to run around. Plus, fighting others, getting in group battles, +20 raids, fighting with a party, participating in dungeons, and etc. ways to play is a pretty interesting experience once you start playing. I like the soul system a lot myself. I might not know how to work it exactly, but it is fun to figure out how the mechanics of the game work and function. The game's quest also don't push you too hard in collecting items or killing monsters, it's usually a correct amount of items or monsters. I believe the game is fun and interesting to play and is worth and least checking out and playing a little while.

  • Zariarn

    So lately I've been doing some MMO hopping and I thought I'd give this game a whirl. Despite all the negativity surrounding it, I was actually surprised. The game is a lot better than expected. Other than very linear and generic gameplay, it's not bad. I've certainly seen a lot worse. It's the best generic MMO I've played in awhile.

    Pros:

    Very well polished for a F2P game.
    The graphics are good and runs very well. No complaints.
    Simple UI. Not cluttered with typical cash shop/free reward icons.
    Combat is classic tabbed targeting but better than old school style MMOs. It's a good mix of new and old.
    For an asian port, the game is translated quite well.
    Good music and sound
    The best part of the game is that each zone evolves as you complete certain quest within in the zones. Original feature IMO.

    Cons:
    Gender Locked classes (no big deal for some)
    If you like linear gameplay, then this is the game for you. Like Blade n Soul, each zone is an island.(figuratively speaking) You complete a zone and move on to the next. No reason to go back to the previous zones. The zones are separated by portals and loading screens.
    Not a lot of room for exploration and environment interaction.
    Very simplistic gameplay.(This may be a pro for some)
    No quest voice acting. There's some NPC chatter in the world though.
    A little too easy?

    • Josh Hines

      yeah the game is actually pretty good ... damn sure better than alot of the f2p ones out there ... honestly its looks and feels alot like a blade and soul vanilla version

  • Josh Hines

    Good thing its heavily p2w nor is the game dead by any means .. has a much higher playerbase than Black Desert does ... nor do you need to invest 1000s not even 100s ... but seeing how you have claimed to have put 3 grand into AK just shows you are a moron and pretty much anything you have to say has no leg to stand on...

  • RS

    I like the game. Just recently capped (70) and will start exploring my options soon. Otherwise, I found it lots of fun. I quested and soloed the whole way. I'm female but I made a warrior (Berserker) and a warlock (Reaper) both male chars. I made a female char but haven't player her yet. This may sound silly but the one thing I like about the male chars I made is I could make them TALL. They are heads and shoulders above the female chars (and some of the other male chars in game but that may just be because of my settings. I do know I wasn't able to bring my female char up to the height of my male chars).
    I hate to grind so the questing gameplay was great for me. I liked the story. I hit 70 before finishing all the story quests so I am going to finish them even though I no longer get exp for questing.
    I'm kind of a novice when it comes to MMOs in that I've only played a couple of different games. This one was easy for me to learn and some trial and error helped me to figure out various aspects of the game. When all else failed (lol) I asked someone in game for help/information. Honestly, my biggest challenge was figuring out the chat system so I could communicate. I know...very noobish of me.
    I never needed help questing. If I couldn't kill I either changed my equipment or came back after another level or two.
    I'm a little shy when it comes to playing so I stay to myself but people were helpful. You start out in a generic, system guild with other new players but once you've played for a bit, someone will usually invite you to a regular guild.
    For a beginner, the game is fun and entertaining. As it's been pointed out, up to max level you really don't NEED to spend any rl $$ at all. We'll see what I need to do from here on out.
    Have fun! 🙂