1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (319 votes, average: 3.37 / 5)
Loading...

Revelation Online

Revelation Online is an upcoming MMORPG that features endless flight, gorgeous graphics, and a variety of classes and races. Players can fly freely across the entire game world without worrying about temporary wings or flying mounts.

Publisher: My.com
Type: MMORPG
PvP: Duels / World PvP / Arena / Guild Wars
Release Date: TBA
Pros: +Detailed character customization. +Freely distribute skill points. +Permanent flight. +Seemless open world.
Cons: -Optimization issues. -Confusing interface. -Reliance on daily quests for progression.

Play Revelation Online

Overview

Revelation Online Overview

Revelation Online is an upcoming free-to-play MMORPG by Chinese developer NetEase, creator of the popular game Fantasy Westward Journey. Choose from six different combat classes that include Light Blade, Templar, Summoner, and Elementalist, as well as four social jobs, that feature social and combat skills such as Dancer, Chef, Butler, and Maid. Freely distribute your skill points outside of combat to adapt to a variety of situations. The game offers three different targeting systems that include: classic tab-targeting, assisted action targeting inspired by Blade and Soul, and a third option that blends the classic and action controls. One of the game's unique features is its permanent flight system that allows player to explore the entire game world seamlessly, in contrast with Aion's time-limited flight.

Revelation Online Key Features:

  • Six Player Classes + Four Social Jobs – pick a combat class from a variety of melee and ranged classes, then augment it with a social job at level 20.
  • Infinite Flight – gain a permanent set of wings at level 30 and fly freely across the game world.
  • Freely Swap Skill Points – switch skill points and abilities any time your character is out of combat, giving players the ability to adapt to any situation.
  • Multiple Targeting Systems – play the game as you choose, either with classic WoW-inspired tab-targeting or an action MMORPG targeting reticle.
  • Variety of PvP and PvE Modes – fight hordes of tough boss monsters in the game's instanced dungeons or join a guild and participate in the game's guild vs. guild PvP battles for castle ownership.

Revelation Online Screenshots

Revelation Online Featured Video

Full Review

Revelation Online Review

By, Baruch Spinoza

Revelation Online is the first grand scale MMORPG from China to release in the West in quite a while. From the first moment you log-in you’ll notice it’s a game that’s obviously different from the standard flux of Korean and Western MMORPGs. And different is good. Different is needed. Revelation tries to take all of the elements prominently featured in MMORPGs and stuffs them into one game. The question heavy the air is, does it work?

The generalized impressions below are intended for someone debating whether or not to start playing. As I level up I will return to this review and refine my thoughts if need be.

Journey Through The Tutorial

I’m willing to say that the first 30 levels, if not 40, are all tutorial. You will click “F,” the button signifying Interact, more than any other on your keyboard as the story guides you from one destination to the next without ever giving the player time to absorb whatever it is that's going on. Quests involve collecting a few items or killing a handful of mobs, before scooting you along to the next area. It's so quick you can't process how the world is connected. There’s no time for a breather.

I immediately understood what it would mean to be a Bot that gained self-awareness, as Revelation Online treats you as one. The breakneck pacing feels tacky. Though many other games are equally guilty. It’s browser design principles imbued in a mainstream PC experience. Luckily, it does eventually ease up and you can appreciate you classes combat prowess.

Visceral Combat

No matter what class I played in Revelation Online I found combat enjoyable. It’s a bit of an odd mixture. When you first start playing you're given the option between three layouts: keyboard, mouse, or action combat. As a melee class I chose action, but the action combat schema is still at its foundation a tab-targeting system—your character locks onto the nearest mob. Though combat’s fast-paced nature makes it feel fluid and varied, separating it from traditional tab-targeting games.

Abilities are bound to your mouse buttons; 1-5; then Q, E, R, T, G; and F1 through F6. There’s a lot to absorb. And I found myself using the majority of my abilities during combat. Combat is playing your keyboard like a guitar, constantly moving across the keys as you dish out attacks. The variety of moves keeps combat engaging, demanding player’s attention. Some classes, such as the Occultist, can switch stances—from DPS to healing—completely changing their schema so that, in a sense, you have two classes in one.

During a fight you will move constantly. Telegraphs and monstrous attacks force you to dodge, and some attacks even require jumping to avoid damage. Combat is like a dance. At least it is when you’re squaring off against bosses. But for typical mobs you’ll group up as many as you can and then unleash all of your abilities at once to wipe them out.

A E S T H E T I C S

Revelation Online is a game that can be described as pretty and reheated pea soup at the same time. Maybe pulchritudinous is the right adjective for once. Environments are often beautiful at a distance, and then lose their details as you get closer. That’s because there are various quality textures trying to melt together, and they don’t mix. It can be jarring at times. Though the overall experience gets a checkmark in the beauty department as you run through the maps.

The biggest issue is a delayed pop-in that hurts initial impressions of the game’s world. Even your porcelain-doll character's armor will sometimes take a second to load in its details, breaking the game's fourth wall.

Most impressive is Revelation Online’s enemy designs. The originality immediately apparent after your first dungeon, though there’s no visual harmony between the game's various bosses, or a sense of narrative purpose for their existence. Again, Revelation Online's style is drawing from various influences. However, you’ll rarely kill trope mobs: boars, kobolds, etc. By virtue of being unique, the mob designs are impressive.

Convoluted Presentation

The most off-putting aspect of Revelation Online is its convolution: multiple currencies, an overwhelming number of items, difficult to ascertain quest objectives. You’re not eased into RO’s world. You transition from baby-step story quests to, “Here you are. Now figure out what everything does.” It’s easy to feel lost, confused, misguided. It's complexity through obfuscation.

More than once I had to turn to helpful online guides to figure out the purpose of one item or another, including crafting and gathering which seem obscure because of their user interface presentation. Meanwhile, icons in the bottom-right of your UI represent anywhere from one to five elements, so that you find yourself hovering over each to see if it contains the character sheet you need. The smorgasbord reminds me of numberless browser games that operate under the same design principle: the illusion of deep gameplay by adding buttons.

Waving Your PvP Skills

PvP plays a rather large role in Revelation Online. At level 40 and up you can enter Battlegrounds which play out like a MOBA-esque zerg fest. You run down lanes, as NPC warriors clash, and kill the members of the other team. The first team to obtain 100 kills wins. It’s chaos incarnate: a place to spam all of your abilities or pick the stragglers as they try to flee. Is it fun? It’s fun to stomp on other players, which means you want to be the one with the best gear in the fight. Otherwise, you’re going to struggle to obtain a kill.

There are also arena duels, either solo, or in 3v3 battles. The arena involves a level of skill and tactics. The right juxtaposition between your team’s composition means the difference between winning and losing. World PvP also exists, but both parties have to be willing to fight. Otherwise the attacker earns a killer mark, making it possible that they will drop some of their gear if killed. It’s a system that diminishes the appetite for World PvP.

Cash Shop

Rather than pass judgment on the most contentious aspect of any MMORPG and tell you whether it constitutes pay-to-win or not, I’m detailing what items are available and how they benefit the player, and you can decide whether or not those items fit your pay-to-win concept. Looking at the shop, it’s not obvious what items do. So I spent 20 bucks on random items to see what would happen.

Besides cosmetics, you can buy Ausgyth treasure items, which give you tokens to be exchanged for bronze shards, a currency for a huge swath of items at a corresponding NPC—including crafting mats and level 49 gear. There's also experiencing increasing potions, skill and stat reset manuscripts. Some of the crafting mats sold are necessary crafting components, such as the Divine Sigil. But they can, so it seems, be earned without spending money in the cash shop. Though the convenience of spending money to circumvent grinding does exist.

Final Verdict - Good

Revelation Online is a tried and true good game. It suffers from many faults but overcomes its issues by excelling in its strengths: combat and multiple avenues of progression. Largely, Revelation is attractive just for being different. NetEase has taken many of the elements featured in popular MMORPGs and stuffed them into one game, and it works well enough. While it can be overwhelming thanks to its convoluted presentation, Revelation Online is an enjoyable game with enough variety to entertain any player seeking a novel MMORPG experience.

Screenshots

Revelation Online Screenshots

Videos

Revelation Online Videos

Links

Revelation Online Online Links

Revelation Online Official Site
Revelation Online Facebook

System Requirements

Revelation Online System Requirements

Minimum Requirements:

Operating System: Windows XP SP3
CPU: Intel Pentium Dual-Core 2.4 GHz
Video Card: GeForce 9500GT / Intel HD4000 Integrated Graphics or better
RAM: 2 GB
Hard Disk Space: 5 GB

Recommended Requirements:

Operating System: Windows 7
CPU: Intel i5 Quad-Core 3.0 GHz
Video Card: GeForce GTX650Ti or better
RAM: 4 GB
Hard Disk Space: 10 GB

Music

Revelation Online Music & Soundtrack

Coming Soon...

Additional Info

Revelation Online Additional Information

Developer: NetEase
Publisher: My.com

Game Engine: BigBagin Engine

CN Closed Beta: August 29, 2014
CN Open Beta: June 19, 2015

Closed Beta 1: October 25, 2016 - November 08, 2016
Closed Beta 2: December 20, 2016 - January 04, 2017
Closed Beta 3: January 19, 2017 - February 09, 2017

Open Beta: February 27, 2016
Release Date: March 06, 2016

Development History / Background:

Revelation Online is developed and published by NetEase, a Chinese developer notable for its popular game Fantasy Westward Journey. The game was announced via trailer at G-Star 2013, with the company announcing it was looking to expand overseas for the first time into South Korea. It went into a Chinese closed beta on August 29, 2014, and later released a Chinese open beta on June 19, 2015. My.com secured publishing rights for a World Wide audience and announced the game would enter its first Western Closed Beta on October 25, 2016 and end on November 08, 2016. A second Closed Beta began on December 20th, 2016, lasting until January 04, 2017. The final Closed Beta test was held on January 19, 2017 and ended on February 09, 2017. The cash shop was made available during the third Closed Beta. Revelation Online entered Early Access for Founder's Pack owners on February 27, 2017, and entered Open Beta on March 06, 2017.

  • candesco

    Seems it's a mix of Aion, Blade and Soul, TERA and also a tiny bit of Black Desert, though it's most influenced of the games of NCsoft, especially Aion. And yeah, in Aion you fly for a certain amount of time and it's also restricted to certain areas. You can extend the flight time though. I play and have played all 4 mentioned games, to which i still play black desert nowadays. Aion is a bit on hold, TERA is unfortunately kinda empty and i don't play blade and soul anymore because of the bots and spam there.

    Revelation looks nice, though i do hope they don't reproduce the intro of blade and soul, because that one is almost the same as the early stages of Jade Empire (student at school, ransacking of the school,etc)

    • Wonwooism – Not SJW

      Clearly you dont know Perfect World. Rather than Aion, this game is influenced heavily by Perfect World. There are Aion, Blade and Soul, TERA, etc, you name it. I've played PW for 3 years and aion for 4-5 years, and a few months of BnS and Tera. I've played most of Chinese and Korean MMORPG, at the of the day they are the same.

      • candesco

        First you say it's influenced by perfect world, then later on you say there are the same at the end. Not very convincing.
        I haven't played perfect world no, but i remain by my words that Revelation looks more like a mix of aion, bns, tera and bdo, combined with an own story and gameplay. That's my opinion.

        • Wonwooism – Not SJW

          What you dont understand about my words? I clearly say it is influenced heavily by PW but I dont say it's ONLY influenced by PW.
          Your comprehension is very bad. And then you say you havent played PW so your opinion is lacking.

      • Loric

        Finally Someone else who noticed it and also knows perfect. From all the above yes this game is 90% perfect world , so much the same. I was reading on a comment a while ago that you can cuddle up your mate and fly up in the sky with him/her in your arms. Yeah perfect world did the same 10 years ago.

  • Bankotsu

    They Better not put p2w into this game even tho its Korean and they butcher there mmos with p2w..But they say its pay for convience which we all know is fucking bullshit just let it have a sub and call it a day

    • borbajev

      It's Chinese*

    • Nheeb

      Not only is it Chinese, but it was P2W from day one.

  • Exin

    Played on China, RU and all 3 CBTs - all i can say is that the game is great!

    From level 30 the game gradually opens, prior to that it’s basically a quest chain/tutorial you will just have to get through if you don’t like it. At the end we have game full of content::
    – PVE (dungeons – 5 people, raids – 10-20 people, open world, fractions, events like GW2;)
    – PVP (siege, 10v10, 20v20, 30v30, 3v3 ranked, deathmatch, open world and many others);
    – daily PVE and PVP events;
    – extensive and meaningful crafting system;
    – extensive character development, skills and items (point distribution, weapon and armor enchanting, prefixes, cultivation of character and skills);
    – trading (merchant system – like Archeage, BDO, player shops – like Lineage 2, and of course auction house etc.);
    – out extremely extensive system gildyjny (guild quests, guild bossy, PVP gildyjne , craft, buff);
    – excellent movement (wings, flying mounts that can get from 1 to 50 people; ground mounts are mainly for instances);
    – mentoring system;
    – very good graphics – ok, you can not compare with Black Desert, but plus of a little worse graphics is game performance during mass PVP – in addition there’s a battlewear system that limits the details on characters during PVP, so the game will go run pretty well and look good even on very weak computers.
    Generally, we have everything you could ever hope to have in MMORPG. The game has to be developed at least 10 years, is planned to update the engine.

    Regarding P2W – you can use money 3 ways in Revelation:
    1) You can buy skins, wings and mounts (although you can get couple of each through normal gameplay, f.e. as a reward in some challenges)
    2) You can buy items that are needed for enhancing your equipment and skills – this is kinda controversial, since if you invest heavy, you will be 2-3 months ahead of someone who hasn’t spend anything. Everything in the cash shop is obtainable through normal gameplay, but it will take time to catch up someone who invested thousands of dollars/euro. However, if you invest heavy, you will hit the cap in terms of enhancing gear (majority of stuff is transferable between the same items, so for example if you have level 37 weapon, you can transfer your enchants to level 49 weapon, or if you craft level 59 weapon using your level 49 weapon, you can add extra materials (not much) to keep the enchants and other upgrades). Now once you hit the cap, everyone else start to catch up. Also, there’s no single item in the cash shop that allows you to obtain gear faster or get whole pieces of gear through the cash shop.
    3) Convenience items – bag expansions, zip skill refresher (you can TP to certain NPCs using this skill) and what you asked about item for extended flight time, BUT it’s not particularly for extended flight time, as this is unlimited, but it increase ‘Levity’ regeneration – a resource for dashing. This item is called Windrider Feathers, cost 3 Aurums and lasts 15 minutes. 3 Aurums is exactly 0,03-0,04 EUR depending which Aurum pack you buy. Keep in mind, that you can buy Aurums using in-game money (Gythils).
    The game is great and in my opinion cash shop will only influence PVP at the very top level. You can enjoy everything without spending a cent. And once you farm some money in game, you can exchange it for premium currency and buy the stuff you need yourself!

    A lot of people, which speaks about the game did play the game long enough to even have a clue about what it really is. I would recommend everyone to try it and test it yourself on OBT! 🙂

  • Selfhood

    They must be paying you a lot to keep the hype for Revelation.

  • Max Alexander Nicol

    I tried my best to like it, but it just bores me to death at the moment. Maybe I need to approach it from a different angle and give more classes a try? When I find some time I'll go at it again but until then I just can't jive with it.

  • Shea Thomas

    Way too many limits on EVERYTHING, want to craft? limit that refreshes SO slow, need to do a dungeon for gears/mats? only 3 times a day and they last less than 20mins, need exp? only 5 ways to get it and each can only be done once a day, want a little extra, limited also, need material for gears? only 1 a week, want to do anything more then 3 times? wait for the next day, you can literally do EVERY daily and faction quest in under 4hrs, skills are very basic and boring, want to block that next bot? black list limit, if you are VERY casual, give it a go, lv50 occultist here.

  • Onerioi

    US CBT & Open Beta player here. Enjoying the fast leveling to 30's and 40's. The storyline is meh. Exploration and flying is awesome! Have had a couple of fun social experiences. The gold-seller spam sucks - it totally obliterates the usefulness of chat. You can blacklist, but they come online as fast as you can, and you can currently only blacklist up to 50. Much of the content is still in some Chinese dialect. Curious what you all who have leveled higher than I think about the ability to play solo if you want at higher levels. Is that at all possible? If not, I'll likely go back to GW2.

    • The gold sellers are nuts. They need to figure out a way to keep it under control

  • Nue

    Played it for about 15 mins, felt clunky and dated

    • Snake Eyes

      Classes are very boring, at first i played Swordmage and i didnt even want to play release because of it, but on release i picked Blademaster and was kinda satisfied with it.

      Tried every other class in special trials which allow you to test all of their skills, and only healer and gunslinger looked somewhat interesting, but not so much that i could play them for longer time.

      Not sure what you mean about dated...which western you consider not to be?

  • KpopFeels MyJams

    This game is boring. Repetitive and Confusing. Players base full for now but no one really helps you. No one really talks. Game isn't fully translated. They don't explain much stuff to you. All you do is daily quest. Barely and kill and collect quest. Flying and running is fun but to much grind for upgrades and stuff. Basically a flying simulator. If you want give a try its your life and time wasted.

    • Snake Eyes

      Sadly it feels exactly like that.. i found myself to be flying around time most of the time thinking what i would do after i've finished my dailies... Checked auction every 10 minutes for better gear, and gathered few materials...

      Its like the game wants you to idle and not play it. It misses certain MMO feel i cant seem to find out which one it is. Also i highly dislike the map in this game, it just gives me bad feeling.

  • Asdf

    Only snowflakes and whales keep playing this game.You can't even compete in this game even if you play 24/7.This game is all about who pays more earns more and win.The weekly system is broke.People who have money will buy everything at max,while people who don't need to wait for a weekly reset to advance which is a pain in the but...
    Just wait for new content,it will be a paywall if you want to do something.
    Now your just playing a facebook game on a daily basis to do something not to achieve something.
    Pvp is more p2w than other games cause in other games you don't have a weekly cap progression.If you want to compete with whales ok play 24/7 if you can and pay something if you can't.
    3.56 is a big score for a game like this with so many flaws.Yes it has good sides it's complex,events upon events.You don't run out of things you can do.But few events are rewarding for the things you really need.Like gear up,soulgrids,enchants.It has some localisation flaws.
    So in short this game is a whale dream.You pay,you don't care about others reaching your leaderboard.Same as Archeage crap but there at least you have the option of farmville.

    • ivan_

      sounds like BDO, which for some reason everyone worships?? P2W in 2017 is no longer "pay to be stronger than everyone else", it is "pay for convenience" like unlocking inventory and travel speed.

      The only thing that isn't considered p2w is cosmetics, but even then, if the game is heavily focused on horizontal progression well we judge per game.

  • Bulala

    This game is the worst game i ever played

    • You ought to try some browser knock-off games ><

    • Doby Gillis

      You haven't played many games then.

    • DucturTunma

      The gameplay and visuals are awesome! Sadly unplayable for anyone with sane mind. It really disappointed me as I was looking forward to it and after few first hours in it I liked it. Just had to leave because of bugs, bots, gold sellers, p2w elements and bad interface.

  • espiegle

    This game blows on the NA server. half of the game does not work. constant crashing. my.com keeps throwing more bad code into the mix instead of fixing what is broken. do not waste your money or time.

  • Rass Bago

    Great graphics, smooth flowing movements, awesome wings and mount collections, and interesting gameplay...unfortunately, the US developer doesn't care about the player base (poor customer service-questionnable security as a lot had compromised accounts, aka hacked). The game has a ton of bots, overflowing spams by gold sellers, poorly/untranslated texts, and tons of bugs. Players are quitting left and right because the environment (as common in open world) is bully the weak, with P2W players dominating). Servers get merged despite different economies, server start time, player base progression. They make new servers to get money from unsuspecting newbies, milk them, and dump them in the old servers after a few months. Typically could have been great if given to a developer who cared more about keeping their customers for prolonged end game, instead of quick cash grabs from newbies.

  • Cole Wallis

    Crappiest customer service in any MMO I've ever played. They harass honest players who "play the market" at the instigation of the botters and sellers who don't want lower prices or competition, while turning a blind eye to the gold farmers, massive botters, and incessant gold seller spam in world chat and destroy the gaming experience.

    Beautiful graphics, but that doesn't make up for the creepy, animae pedophile appearance of the characters, the overly convoluted currency system, the infantile drunken frat boy quest dialog, or the fact that vast parts of the game are incomprehensible because they never bothered to translate text or voice over to English.

    In short, what a rip off!

  • Marco

    Did they managed to optimize the game properly or is still a mess and you need a High End Rig to run it ok-ish because the fps drops were huge and random as hell when i played it 4 months ago