1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (11 votes, average: 1.55 / 5)
Loading...

UberStrike

UberStrike is an FPS featuring deathmatch gameplay where players frag each other for experience using a wide variety of weapons. Level up and customize your avatar to distinguish yourself on the battlefield.

Publisher: Cmune Ltd.
Playerbase: Shut Down
Type: FPS
Release Date: November 16, 2010
Shut Down: June 13, 2016
Pros: +Cosmetic customization. +Large gun arsenal. +Lightweight client.
Cons: -Lacking anti-cheat. -Currency-guns. -Pay-to-win. -Wonky hit-detection. -Bugs.

Overview

UberStrike Overview

Uberstrike is a fast-paced FPS where players duke it out in deathmatch arenas. Earn experience by fragging enemy players and level up, unlocking new weapons available for purchase. A huge arsenal of guns lets you customize your play style, from the AWP sniper rifle to the science-fiction Magma Rifle. Fragging a player sends their rag-doll body hurtling across the map. Earn enough kills for yourself and your team to be declared the winner. Accumulate gold from your winnings and decorate yourself with a wide range of cosmetic items, such as skeleton pants or a unicorn helmet. Uberstrike has a lightweight client that should run on nearly any modern computer, making it highly accessible. UberStrike shut down on June 13, 2016.

UberStrike Key Features:

  • Deathmatch Gameplay - fight alone or with comrades in fast-paced deathmatch arenas.
  • Level Up - accumulate experience by participating in matches, unlocking new equipment for puchase.
  • Gun Arensal - customize your play style with a huge library of guns, from shotguns to missile launchers.
  • Cosmetics - decorate your avatar with an assortment of aesthetic wear such as a bald-eagle head or gas mask.
  • Lightweight Client - Uberstrike is lightweight enough to run on nearly any modern computer.

UberStrike Screenshots

UberStrike Featured Video

Full Review

UberStrike Review

By, Sean Sullivan

Uberstrike has taunted me for months now on Steam, like a Jehovah’s Witness ringing the doorbell even though I’ve hidden my car in the garage. So, I caved and decided to listen to Uberstrike’s selling points, and like any interaction with a solicitor it proved a tiresome experience. Uberstrike originally began as a browser and Facebook app, but has wormed its way onto the Steam store thanks to the Greenlight program. Now it adorns my library like a decoration made of Elmer’s glue and popsicle sticks, an ode to wishful thinking.

Bunny Hop Frenzy

My immediate impression was that UberStrike desperately wanted to be Tribes: Ascend. With movement speeds that would explode a human heart, and instantaneous firefights that throw players back in the fray immediately upon death. But rather than skiing around the map, players bunny-hop like a child whose mother pacifies them with high-fructose corn syrup. Rather than jumping serving as a launching mechanism, as it does in Quake 2, it’s a mechanic for dodging enemy crosshairs. Matches are brimming with spastic players. If you don’t jump you die.

Aim In The Region Of The Face

Every gun causes a specified amount of damage, giving a clear advantage to some firearms over others. Experimenting with the Sears catalog of weapons is enough to prove that the beginner weapon is exceptionally inferior. So I jumped around, equipping myself with an upgraded rifle, shotgun, and sniper rifle. Your giant crosshair will have to be somewhat in-line with the opponent's head to score a kill, dealing critical damage. And it’s pretty simple to keep craniums in your sights as wonky hit-boxes seem to encapsulate the entire body in the skull.

Spawn-camping is rampant. And while I won’t shout hackers, there were suspicious kills from across the map in nearly every match. Some players seem to defy hit-box detection, but that may be part of the game’s sketchy design. Oftentimes a crazed bat-wielding opponent would send my body rag-dolling across the map from two-tiles away.

It’s not a skill-demanding game inasmuch as it is a spray-and-prey, whether that be with melee weapons or guns. And thanks to the limited game modes (both iterations of deathmatch), and small maps, you’re hopping around firing wildly to score kills. High-powered weapons turn your muscles limp instantly. But you'll have to be the right level to wield them.

Progression Regrets

Grinding rewards you with levels, reaping new items available for purchase in the store. There are 40 levels to climb, and experience accumulates at a steady pace. But you’ll have to love the repetitive nature of gameplay to get there. As the limited selection of maps offers an almost identical experience every time you play. And there’s little difference between Team Deathmatch and Deathmatch—each sends players chaotically scavenging the map for enemy players. No matter what, you’re death is likely to come from behind. It quickly grows stale, and even if I was starving I refuse a helping of more UberStrike.

Blasé Field Trip

I shouldn’t be too harsh on the UberStrike presentation. After all it was born as a browser game/Facebook app. While not appalling, it isn’t special. But that allows nearly any player to run the game smoothly. And it lends to swift load times; I barely saw the loading bar when joining a match.

But lightness comes at a cost, and that seems to be quality control. Character models are bland and boring paper dolls, that look like wireframe mesh draped with skin. The environments resemble the capabilities of Valve’s Hammer Editor tool, with a polished glimmer to make the world shine. Not bad, but pulling from a former age when Half-Life 1 was the foundation for online shooters. And the limited number of maps quickly becomes repetitive, evoking only a half-hearted blasé reaction. There is nothing to keep me coming back after one playthrough, no crook unexplored, no experience to walk through.

In every match I played somebody was bleeding through the ground, and rubber-banding around corners like Big Boss. There was always a player using a melee weapon, instantly smacking people even though his character model was nowhere nearby. It would have been frustrating had I felt any sort of commitment to the match. UberStrike can be read and understood in one sitting, with little advantage to rereading.

Throwing Money Out A Window

UberStrike follows the Cash Shop paradigm, featuring two currencies with which to splurge: gold and dollar bills—I appreciate the game’s forwardness. Both currencies are needed to purchase weapons. But UberStrike promotes a rental service, carrying BlockBuster’s legacy, so guns are regularly taken out for a test drive rather than storing them in your driveway. Limited use is the common denominator binding each item. Want to purchase the Enigma Cannon? You can either use accumulated in-game currency (Gold), or cash to rent it for 1 day, or one week at a discounted rate. Or, you can spend slightly more than the week’s rental to keep the item permanently.

If you have unlimited funds to hurtle at UberStrike you will be at a significant advantage over broke peasants. Every item will be immediately available, permanently. Although weapons are level-locked. But the theoretical billionaire will quickly advance, purchasing the optimal loadout at each subsequent level.

At least there is an enormous amount of customization available through cosmetic costumes, distinguishing every aspect of your Ken-doll avatar. I ran around with an Eagle-head for the majority of my play-through, celebrating the American-way.

Final Verdict: Fair

UberStrike isn’t an abomination, but amidst a warehouse of alternative free-to-play shooters it offers little to distinguish itself. After one play-through you’ll experience all that UberStrike has to offer, and due to larger-than-life hitboxes, a pay-to-win cash shop, and limited map variety it sits in my library like raw tuna, not appetizing until some further ingredients are added. I tried to pull back UberStrike’s layers to find the fun between the grind, but at the end of the day I’m left feeling annoyed that it’s been admitted into my library’s museum. I found little reason to play UberStrike, unless you’re computer can’t handle any other FPS.

Screenshots

UberStrike Screenshots

Videos

UberStrike Videos

System Requirements

UberStrike System Requirements

Minimum Requirements:

Operating System: Windows 7
CPU: Dual Core 2.4GHz
RAM: 2 GB
Hard Disk Space: 1 GB

Recommended Requirements:

Operating System: Windows 10 x64
CPU: 3 GHz
RAM: 8 GB
Hard Disk Space: 1 GB

UberStrike is also available for Mac OS X.

Music

UberStrike Music & Soundtrack

Coming Soon...

Additional Info

UberStrike Additional Information

Developer: Cmune Ltd.
Publisher: Cmune Ltd.

Engine: Unity

Release Date: November 16, 2010

Steam Greenlight Posting: Novemeber 12, 2013
Steam Release Date: April 27, 2015

Shut Down: June 13, 2016

Development History / Background:

Uberstrike was developed by Chinese software developer Cmune. The game was originally known as Paradise Paintball, launching in November 2008. It was the first real-time 3D MMO to launch on Facebook and MySpace, and was ranked number 1 for four months on the Apple Dashboard. It is considered the first 3D browser game to employ micropayment systems. Paradise Paintball was renamed to Uberstrike on Novemeber 16, 2010, and included various changes to gameplay. It was posted to Steam Greenlight on Novemeber 12, 2013, and susbequently Greenlit. Uberstrike was released through Steam on April 27, 2015, merging the browser edition of the game with the Steam client.

UberStrike shut down and closed its servers for good on June 13, 2016.