1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (96 votes, average: 3.46 / 5)
Loading...

Aura Kingdom

Aura Kingdom is an anime-inspired 3D fantasy MMORPG where players form pacts with powerful spirits called Eidolons. Set in the verdant world of Azuria, Aura Kingdom is a bright, beautiful game that offers plenty of class and skill options.

Publisher: Aeria Games
Playerbase: Medium
Type: MMORPG
Release Date: January 6, 2014 (NA)
PvP: Dueling / Arenas (lvl 40+)
Pros: +Well designed world and characters. +In-depth Eidolon (pet) system. +Wide variety of classes and subclasses. +Fishing, digging, and other activities to break up the grind.
Cons: -Limited number of dungeons. -Linear and repetitive progression. -Excessive number of botters and gold spammers.

x

Overview

Aura Kingdom Overview

Experience fast-paced action, epic combo attacks, and powerful magical spells in Aura Kingdom, a hack and slash MMORPG from Aeria Games. Journey to Azuria, a world on the brink of war between the forces of light and dark. Choose from 12 different character classes and join the fight as an Envoy of Gaia to defend the realm against powerful forces that seek to destroy it. Summon powerful spirit companions, called Eidolons, to aid you in your quest to defeat the dark knight Reindhart and his army of demons.

Aura Kingdom Key Features:

  • Sleek Anime Visuals – gorgeous anime inspired visuals that look stunning.
  • Class Variety – play as one of 12+ playable classes with job advancements available at level 40 (Guardian, Duelist, Ravager, Wizard, Sorcerer, Bard, Grenadier, Gunslinger, Brawler, Ranger, Ronin, and Necromancer)
  • Pet System – in-depth pet system, called Eidolons, which actually help players in battle. Aura Kingdom also features an excellent variety of mounts.
  • Gliding System – traverse the world of Azuria quickly with the game's glide system. Players can glide through the air starting at early levels.
  • Hidden Quests – discover the world of Azuria by completing hidden quests which can be particularly rewarding! Regular quests feature autopathing, but these special hidden quests do not, which makes them more rewarding.

Aura Kingdom Screenshots

Aura Kingdom Featured Video

Classes

Aura Kingdom Classes

  • Guardian – equipped with swords, shields, and steel armor, Guardians can withstand huge amounts of damage while waiting for that perfect moment to counterattack. They keep enemies occupied while team members go in for the kill.
  • Duelist – experts at quickly taking down enemies from close range, Duelists are known for using razor-sharp dual blades. They use a combination of acrobatics and magic to quickly evade attacks and rapidly deliver a flurry of attacks on their opponent’s weak spots.
  • Ravager – inflicts severe damage to multiple enemies using massive two-handed axes. They are able to channel their rage to deal even more damage. The angrier they are, the stronger they become.
  • Wizard – uses ornate staves to channel their power and control the forces of nature. They can take out hordes of enemies using powerful elemental spells.
  • Sorcerer – uses dark magic from runes and sigils found in ancient tomes and grimoires. They are adept at using debuffs to weaken and debilitate foes on the battlefield.
  • Bard – with harp in hand, Bards use magical songs to support and heal allies in battle. They can also attack enemies using devastating sound waves.
  • Grenadier – demolishes multiple enemies from afar using massive cannons that use magic to fire missiles and plasma charges. They can also build turrets and other ingenious contraptions to aid team members in combat.
  • Gunslinger – with a magical pistol in each hand, these quick-firing Envoys can pepper enemies with bullets before they even come close. They employ magic-laced bullets and traps to keep enemies at bay.
  • Brawler – loves getting up close and personal with opponents. Their exceptional speed and agility allow them to weave in and out of the fight while delivering insane combos using wrist-mounted blades.
  • Ranger – masters of the bow, a weapon that has withstood the test of time. They use enchanted bows to pick off enemies from long range. They can fire enchanted arrows and charge their skills for greater damage.
  • Ronin – their unparalleled skills with the katana allow them to hit their opponent’s vital points. The souls of vanquished enemies are stored in the blade and can be released to deliver a powerful attack.
  • Necromancer – To gain access to this newly added class, players must first have a level 60 character on their account. Unlike other classes, they can summon 3 Eidolons at the same time to assist in combat. They wield a huge grim reaper scythe that deals long range damage. They are able to cast both buffs and debuffs to support allies and wreak havoc on enemies.

Full Review

Aura Kingdom Review

By Marc Marasigan

Aura Kingdoms is a fantasy-themed 3D MMORPG developed by Taiwanese company X-Legend and published in North America by Aeria Games. The game is known as Fantasy Frontier Online in Taiwan and Hong Kong and Innocent World in Japan. The game was nowhere to be found on the X-Legend Japanese website, so I suspect service in Japan has either been closed or renamed to something else. It entered closed beta phase on December 23, 2013 and open beta on January 6, 2014. The game is available on Aeria Ignite as well as Valve's Steam service.

Aura Kingdoms features anime-inspired graphics similar to Grand Fantasia and Eden Eternal. The game is set in Azuria, a mythical medieval world protected by a powerful relic called the Cube of Gaia. The Cube bestows random individuals with magical powers and the ability to summon spiritual beings called Eidolons to do their bidding. The catch, however, is that these chosen individuals can use their powers however they want. This results in less than favorable circumstances when the power awakens in psychopaths hell-bent on destruction. It is the job of Envoys to take care of these power-hungry beings and bring order back to the realm.

Answering the Call of Gaia

To begin their journey as Envoys of Gaia, players choose from 12 different character classes. Each class specializes in one type of weapon so it’s best to choose one suited to your playing styles. Players will be using their chosen class exclusively until they hit level 40. Players are then given the chance to pick a subclass. Players can pick a subclass from one of the remaining classes and will have the chance to learn the skills of their chosen secondary class.

Once players have selected their class, they are then taken to the Eidolon screen. Players get to initially pick from 4 Eidolons with different stats and skills. It’s also important to note that that Eidolons share a percentage of their stats with players so picking one that complements your character and play style is beneficial. Players can also obtain additional Eidolons in-game later on. Once players have picked their starting Eidolons, they then get to customize their character to their heart’s content. Aura Kingdom features more customization options than most MMORPG’s with a variety of hair, face, and eye options to choose from. It is fairly easy for players to have their Envoys looking like their favorite anime characters. I had mine looking like Irina Shidou from High School DxD.

After creating a character, players are transported into the game world and run through a quick tutorial on movement and combat. Unfortunately for veteran players, there is no option to skip the tutorial since it is a part of the storyline. After completing the tutorial and getting a “vision” of things to come, players then wake up in a bustling port town within Azuria.
Right off the bat, I immediately got a sense of how grand and incredibly detailed the game world is. Much like, World of Warcraft, the structures and environment are rendered to almost lifelike proportions which made characters look small and insignificant. It would be easy to get lost in even a small town without the handy autopath feature and the ever helpful mini-map. The multitude of townsfolk gossiping and going about their daily business also add a breath of life to the game. Players can even eavesdrop on them to get game tips, hints on what’s going on in the realm, or a quick laugh. The hauntingly beautiful background music helps immerse players in the game and is quite successful in giving an epic fantasy feel to the world. The game also has a glide feature, which honestly, I terribly suck at. I could never get my character to glide for more than two seconds at a time. Nevertheless, it is a great feature for players who love to fly around.

The Quest Begins

Like every other MMORPG, Aura Kingdom uses quests to guide players from one town or area to the next while providing them with money, equipment, and essential experience points. The quests have the typical goals of killing mobs and gathering items. With quests and hidden quests to help players along, there is not much grinding. Leveling is fast and, unless you are hunting for specific items or gears, the quests alone should provide enough experience points to quickly get you to the endgame.

Quests also serve to tell an epic tale of good versus evil. While the story may be a bit clichéd and overused, it’s still interesting and incredibly well-written. Furthermore, unlike most ported MMO’s, the grammar in-game is spot on. I have yet to find a translation mistake, so hats off to the translation team. One thing that bothers me is that the notification icons that pop-up in the center of the screen tend to often cover up text in conversations. I often found myself stuck in a game of Guess The Word which can be quite annoying.

Combat

Aura Kingdom has done away with traditional click and kill for a more fast-paced combat system used by more modern games like World of Warcraft and RIFT. This type of combat system works well with the WASD keys but players can also use the mouse if they prefer. However, the WASD keys makes combat more fluid and allows players to dance circles around their opponent while chaining skills and attacks together, which is especially useful in PVP matches. For players who are new to this type of combat, chaining attacks while moving takes a while to get used to. At times, this combat requires overly dexterous fingers but is well worth learning.

Unlike World of Warcraft, where players need to memorize a monster's “tells” to know when to get out of the way, Aura Kingdom makes things easier by showing a red indicator on the ground when a monster is about to use a skill. This allows players to dodge the attack relatively effortlessly which, frankly, takes away the challenge and can lead to quick and boring fights.

Skills

Skills in Aura Kingdom are automatically unlocked when a player reaches certain levels. Existing skills are then improved by learning passive abilities in the Envoy’s Path. Players are given points to spend on the Envoy’s Path upon reaching specific experience milestones. The Envoy’s Path consists of passive abilities that boost stats, modify existing skills, and grant new ones. These abilities are grouped together in a grid, with the stronger abilities placed closer to the edge. Players start out in the center of the grid and use points to unlock skills and abilities by choosing squares adjacent to ones they have already unlocked. It takes quite a bit of planning to unlock abilities along the outer edge. If you do make a mistake or would like to try a different route, points can easily be reset by spending gold. However, this can be expensive and requires careful planning.

Eidolons

Eidolons are Aura Kingdom’s take on the pet system. They are bonded to Envoys and assist them in battle. Some Eidolons can also be used as mounts. As mentioned earlier, you can initially pick from four starting Eidolons. Additional Eidolons can be obtained from quests, monster drops, achievement rewards, or through the item mall. Players can only summon one Eidolon at a time but can keep up to three in total. Eidolons are account-bound and can be used by all the characters in the account except for the four starting Eidolons. Furthermore, Eidolons require experience crystals to level up. These crystals can either be looted from monsters, crafted, or by talking with your Eidolons and spending a little quality time. After all, they are bonded to you for life.

PVP

Aura Kingdom’s PVP system allows you to test your skills against other players by challenging them to duels. This feature is available as early as level 1. PVP arenas are also available for players who are level 40 and above. In the PVP arena, players can duke it out in a variety of maps from quick 5v5 deathmatches to longer 50v50 tower defense matches. Depending on which arena a player joins, they are awarded with War Coins to spend on PVP armor or Valor Coins which are used to buy PVP weapons.

Final Verdict: Great

While Aura Kingdom doesn't bring anything new and revolutionary to the table, it's a remarkably polished game that does everything right. Aside from having an interesting story, great anime-inspired graphics, and a beautiful soundtrack, Aura Kingdom also has everything players look for in an MMORPG. The game has action-packed PVE, pets, instanced dungeons, as well as challenging and fast-paced PVP arenas for the hardcore PVP players. Even the translators did a fine job of porting everything over from the Taiwanese version. Overall, Aura Kingdom is a solid game that MMO fans new and old will surely enjoy.

Screenshots

Aura Kingdom Screenshots

Videos

Aura Kingdom Videos

System Requirements

Aura Kingdom System Requirements

Minimum Requirements:

Operating System: Windows XP SP 2
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz / AMD k8 2600
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT / ATI Radeon X1600
RAM: 4 GB
Hard Disk Space: 6 GB

Recommended Requirements:

Operating System: Windows  7 or better
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66 GHz / AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 or better
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 9500 / ATI Radeon HD 2600 or better
RAM: 4 GB
Hard Disk Space: 6 GB

Music

Aura Kingdom Music & Soundtrack

Additional Info

Aura Kingdom Additional Information

Developer: X-Legend
Game Engine: Gamebryo
Closed Beta Date: December 23, 2013 - January 4, 2014
Open Beta Date: January 6, 2014

Foreign Releases

Taiwan: August, 8 2008 (Published by X-Legend as Aura Kingdom Online. AKA Fantasy Frontier Online)

Aura Kingdom was available in Japan as Fantasy Frontier for a short while through X-Legend.co.jp but it's no longer available.

Development Background

Aura Kingdom is yet another anime inspired Fantasy MMORPG from Taiwanese game developer X-Legend. Visually, the game looks a lot like Grand Fantasia and Eden Eternal, except with sharper graphics. In fact, it's fair to say that Aura Kingdom is a much more refined / polished version of X-Legend's older games. Aeria Games announced the game for the U.S. and European markets at Otakon 2013, with attendees receiving early beta codes. Aura Kingdom is powered by GameBase's popular Gamebryo engine.

  • brunocabral

    Is there any chance of porting to Linux?
    The game does not work in Wine. Even some developers of Wine (Compholio)
    failed to run the game in Wne

    • No word on a Linux release yet. I wouldn't hold your breath on it. X-Legend hasn't released any Linux clients for their games 🙁

  • cosmiclatte

    Graphics are good for an anime style mmorpg. The system requirements for this game is low compared to other 3d games, which is good for a casual game. But there are way too many quests(grinding), which is something that I don't really like.

  • Deyirn Skysand

    I've spent almost a month playing it. I remember waking up a 3 AM just so I can play in the OBT from the first minute, but the traffic was so heavy I couldn't even log in. 😀

    The game is very bright and cheerful, while it doesn't offer much of a class customization, it's a very solid game and I would suggest it to anyone who is looking for a bright, non-violent MMO to chillax on. 🙂

  • Justtom

    Really polished graphics, but very cutesy

  • Dan X

    It's another anime looking mmorpg from X Legends.
    ( they sure love making anime mmorpgs don't they ( not that Im complaining since Im a big fan of anime)
    I played this one for quiet a bit , and I must say it was really fun , Eidolons play a big part in the game and there are so many to collect ( go pokemon style np ).
    It makes the game more unique , and also the costumes are really awesome looking .
    I would make this one a must try if you're an anime fan, but also if you want to try something a bit different.

  • This games graphics are pretty amazing. If any of you have seen the popular anime "Sword art Online", the game feels as though you are in the world of that anime! This game is pretty damn good in terms of story, and has solid gameplay and quests. This game has a pet system, which is kind of unique, and pretty much u get a pet that helps you out in battle based on what he is supposed to do. However, other than the pet system of the game, I have a problem with this game, in the fact that It isn't very unique. Like I said before, the gameplay, graphics, and story is solid, and community is great! But it pretty much just feels like every other client based MMORPG out there, and this has nothing to make it stick out. You do the standard, thing to click on the quest, and it takes you there automatically, then you click "skip" and "accept" and you do what it tells you to do.(although, some of the quests are pretty unique and very fun in the higher levels compared to most MMORPG's) The combat system is tab targeted, and unless you are playing one of the more complicated classes (grenadier, gunner) It feels very boring to play something like a guardian, or a bard. The game also feels very linear, and it lacks that sort of "exploration" and "virtual reality" type of feel. If you don't really care about that, the game is great! Pretty much the first couple days or so are you grinding through the linear quests and doing what it tells you to do until you get to level 40 or so, thats when most of the PVP, and Party Dungeons begin, and i believe at level 50 or 60, you can get access to the Sky Tower, which is a really fun dungeon PVE party experience, and the daily dungeon party quests are really fun and there are some really good bosses out there! I think its more targeted to casual MMO players, who just love the anime feeling and story. I don't think this game is the sort of game to last a long time, like WOW, Maplestory, Runescape, Forsaken World, Lord of the Rings Online, and many others.

  • As Rune Armor stated, the visuals in Aura Kingdom are absolutely gorgeous. They're anime inspired, but unlike older anime inspired games like Eden Eternal and Grand Fantasia, the graphics here are crisp and well stylized. It also has 12 playable classes. Aura Kingdom isn't as unique as Eden Eternal, but it's way more polished than most F2P MMORPGs. Give it a try!

  • DexyNexes

    As I'm sort of starting to hit about level 65 now and recently they're adding a bunch of new content like level caps increase from 75 to 90 a couple more end game dungeons and more to the end game raid aka Sky Tower, while yes I do admit there is some grinding here, but they've lowered it quite a lot, I was level 60 when i came back to the game, and within about two weeks of grinding (60 hours) I was able to get to level 64, but it wasn't anything too intense, and I didn't use any 2x other than the one weekend we got (2 days) the game does give you lots of ways to get xp boosts and plenty of dungeons to grind to. It is casual but again there is a little bit of some grind, but nothing that's too extreme, and gearing isn't too too bad compared to some games like maplestory, economy isn't awful just have to keep track for low prices, the game is still being supported by the publisher (as you can see with the new content coming) and is getting some (not too much mostly bug fixes it seems but I could be wrong) from the developer. If I had to give it an arbitrary score it would be, not too bad but not for everyone/10

  • Jumin Rhee

    I do love the graphics. As an explorer-gamer, however, I am constantly told I cannot go to another map (not just dungeons). I want to just walk around the entire world and take in the landscape, flora, fauna, and cities (towns). Imagine being told that you are not levelled up enough to go to Seattle...

  • RoseyDev

    I started playing this 2 years ago, i love the graphics, combat system with a lot of skills to choose from. I like the fact that there are many mini games in it, your name bar will change depending on your achievement rank, pets and eidolons etc. The most annoying part is probably dungeon grinding which i always got stuck at lvl 60 due to low xp but i came back when lvling to higher lvl got super easy. I rarely join pvp because its usually unfairly balanced, rather than choosing by lvl it should also choose by your armor rating, some can be high lvl but with bad armor so you won't get a chance to be good at pvp where most have their armors maxed. I have been on and off playing this game but each time i come back, the community is fun if you start talking to people or join a fun friendly guild. Mine back in the day did hide and seek and other games where you could win a prize, i haven't had any bad experience from the community.

  • Giovy

    nice anime graphics , really flashy animations but but for some people they get repetitive really fast...(not for me) EXP really fast up to 50 then it gets a little little bit grindy with monsters but with it-s bout 4 levels a day if you quest a lot. really cool class system and a lot better from the old game they made grand fantasia ;sob; ;sob; the pay to win is not too bad just best eidolons are there and mounts and some other stuff but no big deal.. learning curve is a little bit difficult because of the quick leveling to 50. quest are repetitive but really quick. i'm almost lvl 70 and i have to say i really like the game but i think something is missing and i get bored rather quickly ... maybe because i have no one to play with but i still say that if anyone wants to try this game and they are a anime fan then go for it