1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (49 votes, average: 3.22 / 5)
Loading...

Shroud of the Avatar

Shroud of the Avatar is an upcoming fantasy-sandbox MMORPG created by Lord Britsh, and features both single-player and multiplayer game modes. Forge your skills, explore, PvP, build a house, and more in the spiritual successor to Ultima Online.

Publisher: Portalarium
Playerbase: Low
Type: Sandbox MMORPG
PvP: Open flag/Zones/Guild Warfare
Release Date: November 24, 2014
Pros: +Single-player and Multiplayer modes. +No classes. +Player housing. +Dynamic combat system.
Cons: -Graphics may not appeal to everyone. -Limited player-direction.

x

Overview

Shroud of the Avatar Overview

Shroud of the Avatar is a fantasy-sandbox MMORPG and the spiritual successor the Ultima series of games. Primarily designed by Richard Garriott (Lord British), Shroud of the Avatar features both single-player and multiplayer, leaving it to the player to choose how much interaction they want while in the game's world. There are no classes guiding your character design. Customize your avatar by mixing and matching hundreds of skills and spells from over twenty skill trees. Skills determine your available options in combat, but they will present themselves randomly in each fight, and only skills that appear can be used—similar to TCG's. So, the more skills you select the less likely a specific skill is to appear during an engagement. Create a home for yourself in Shroud of Avatar's non-instanced world and hire a merchant to sell goods collected from your travels. Or join a player-run community and forge an alliance with other players. Craft valuable items by gathering raw materials and refining them to create the most valuable loot in the game. Adventure by taking on quests, communicating with NPC's dynamically by typing your inquiries and responses. Choose your own patch and forge a legacy in Shroud of the Avatar.

Shroud of the Avatar Key Features:

  • Single-Player or Multiplayer - play Shroud of the Avatar in one of three unique ways: single player, friends only, or online play.
  • No classes - over twenty skill trees present players with a multitude of spells and skills to mix and match.
  • Player Housing - players can create their home in a non-instanced world, and hire a vendor to sell goods.
  • Dynamic combat - each engagement will present players with randomly acquired skills to use, like a custom deck of skills.
  • Crafting Economy - gather resources and refine them through crafting to create the most highly prized items in the game.

Shroud of the Avatar Screenshots

Shroud of the Avatar Featured Video

Shroud of the Avatar - Official Forsaken Virtues Trailer

Full Review

Shroud of the Avatar Review

Shroud of the Avatar Online full review coming soon!

Screenshots

Shroud of the Avatar Screenshots

Videos

Shroud of the Avatar Videos

Playlist: Shroud of the Avatar

System Requirements

Shroud of the Avatar System Requirements

Minimum Requirements:

Operating System: Windows 7 64 bit or newer
CPU: Intel Core 2 DUO 2.4 GHz / AMD Athlon X2 2.7 GHz
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3870 / NVIDIA 8800 GT / Intel HD 3000 Integrated Graphics
RAM: 6 GB
Hard Disk Space: 7 GB

Recommended Requirements:

Operating System: Windows 7 64 bit or newer
CPU: Quad Core Processor 2.4GHz or faster
Video Card: DirectX10 Compatible AMD Radeon HD 6850 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550
RAM: 8 GB
Hard Disk Space: 7 GB

Shroud of the Avatar is also available for OS X and Linux.

Official system requirements have not yet been released for Shroud of the Avatar. The requirements above our based on our experience and will be updated when official numbers become available.

Music

Shroud of the Avatar Music & Soundtrack

Additional Info

Shroud of the Avatar Additional Information

Developer: Portalarium
Game Engine: Unity

Creative Director: Richard Garriott
Executive Producer: Starr Long
Technical Designer: Chris Spears
Lead Story Designer: Tracy Hickman

Kickstarter Posting: March 08, 2013
Kickstarter End Date: April 07, 2013

Steam Greenlight Posting: September 19, 2014
Steam Greenlit: September 22, 2014

Reveal Date: March 08, 2013
Release Date (Early Access): November 24, 2014

Development History / Background:

Shroud of the Avatar is developed by Texas-based game studio Portalarium. The development company was founded in September 2009 by Richard Garriott, and it's first major title is Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues. The game was posted to Kickstarter on March 08, 2013. Funding closed on April 07, 2013, successfully raising nearly $2 million from over 22,000 backers. It was subsequently Greenlit for Steam on September 22, 2014. Shroud of the Avatar runs on the Unity game engine. It released as a pre-alpha Early Access game on Novemeber 24, 2014. Beta release is planned near the end of 2015.

5 comments

  • Pretty excited to try Shroud of Avatar but it seems its still too early in development to warrant the price tag. I'll wait until beta to dive into what's supposed to be the next Ultima.

    • I am pretty iffy about it because of the way the business model has been up until now, selling plots of land and houses to put on them for obscenely high prices. It makes me wonder how much land will actually be available to people who don't pay for it or if it will be at all. I don't really want to pay upwards of $200 for the most basic virtual house and I sure don't want to know I'm missing out because someone decided it would be a good idea to keep things that way.

      No, you can't just tell all these paying customers "you'll have to fight for land with the free newbs" but it's ridiculous to expect everyone to pay those prices for a core feature of the game. It reminds me so much of Star Citizen's business model...

      (Can't tell I've given this quite a bit of thought.)

  • I'll end up trying just because its by Richard Garriott. I still have a signed picture of him from his Ultima days >_<

  • I backed this game heavily early in development, and sadly, it's unplayable to me and an extreme disappointment. It's based on Ultima Online- and was advertised being a spiritual successor to this great and RPG friendly game. The problem with the game has to do with it's name and pedigree versus it's abstracted terribly non-roleplaying friendly combat system.
    Shroud of the AVATAR, obviously, should focus on the player's character. The game should create a believable world for your avatar to explore in an escapist fashion. It was touted as an RPG. You shouldn't have your immersion crushed by game systems that pull you out of the "world" where your character has a realistic house, and crafts stuff that is designed to feel realistic- but that is exactly what the abstracted, card playing combat does. It forces the player to move outside one's character at exactly the moments when it should be the most fun to "play your character". Right when you are fighting the nasty wyvern or skeleton lord, or whatever, you are pushed into an abstract game of cards. All belief in whatever monster is on the screen is crushed as you are dragged into this decidedly less interesting card mess. Tactics on the battlefield mean nothing. Positioning means little, and the monsters seem generic and abstracted with the stupid chance cards being pulled.
    Why?
    This is a real bummer for all fans looking for an immersive world. The combat system is counterproductive to the entire rest of the game- which works hard to immerse one in a believable character. It's a real pity, and it's what happens when one designer with considerable input does not understand the original game's vision to begin with, and crams some poorly fitting idea from some other game they enjoy into a different genre of game which has an entirely different basic concept.
    As a conceptual gaming artist myself- for some 25 years now- and one who loved all the Ultima games, I feel it's tragic that so much work has gone into a game design, yet the product is so rotten due to basic conceptual flaws of such an obvious nature.
    Hundreds of backers warned the developers of Shroud of the Avatar for endless months that the combat system had to go, because it simply was a horrible fit for the rest of this game. Various forum polls found 80% of the most loyal fan base of the game disliked or despised the game's combat.
    It just does not work- unless, of course, you don't WANT an RPG and buy Shroud as a computer card game because you like that genre.
    Shroud of the Avatar could have been so much more than this, and I am quite sad that the game's combat is so jarring that it causes me to stop playing, everytime I attempt to do so.
    It's a "Might have been" title that sadly is doomed to mediocrity.
    That is much worse than any game that is all around bad- because, Shroud had such great potential.
    At least, this is my opinion of this badly cobbled together game.

    • i backed the game early and played a bit and thought the combat would later look like at least skyrim like but it just looks and feels old and boring,the last time i tried it:(

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *